Blues Bassline tabs

PDA

View Full Version : Blues Bassline tabs

detroit
01-06-2008, 07:57 PM
Hello. I was wondering if you masterminds of UG could help me? I play Bass and am looking for some good blues bassline tabs to learn with. I am still pretty new at this thing they call Bass guitar. Any suggestions would be most helpful.

GD_GC
01-06-2008, 08:17 PM
Blues bass is just something else man, good luck with it. But yeah tabs are hard to find, its probably easier just to listen and try and pick out what the greats are doing. Maybe listen to Tommy Shannon of Stevie Ray Vaughan and Double Trouble, I've always really liked his basslines.

Dimebag22
01-06-2008, 08:27 PM
I would probably try picking up a book from your local store about walking bass patterns but normally, in a 12 bar blues, you would want your root, 4th and 5th. So basically in E you would want E (root) for 4 bars, then your A (4th) for 2 bars, then your E again for 2 more, then your B (5th) for 2 bars, then back to the E for two more bars. That makes 12 bars.

Also, if you don't know how the Root and 4th ect comes in, let me know and I'll explain how all this works.

gopherthegreat
01-07-2008, 11:04 AM
I would probably try picking up a book from your local store about walking bass patterns but normally, in a 12 bar blues, you would want your root, 4th and 5th. So basically in E you would want E (root) for 4 bars, than your A (3rd) for 2 bars, than your E again for 2 more, than your B (5th) for 2 bars, than back to the E for two more bars. That makes 12 bars.

Also, if you don't know how the Root and 4th ect comes in, let me know and I'll explain how all this works.
you mean 4th. the third of E would be Ab

sinan90
01-07-2008, 11:58 AM

Actually the 3rd would be G#, even though they sound as the same note, they're not, and to call it Ab would be incorrect.