Finger blisters.

PDA

View Full Version : Finger blisters.

Ki'
01-08-2008, 04:59 PM
I play bass with fingers for a year now. I'm pretty comfortable playing with fingers, but once in a while I get blisters on both my index and middle finger and I have to stop playing bass for a month or so 'til they're gone.

I don't think my choice of strings are the problem because I get blisters with regular and steel bass strings. Maybe I'm plucking the strings too hard for the tips to handle? Or will they become less frequent with time?

(by blisters I mean a small white circle of infected skin on the finger tips that hurts if I continue to play)

weirdjohn87
01-08-2008, 05:02 PM
I got blisters when I started playing bass, but I played through it. Now I just have callouses.

banzaitohottie
01-08-2008, 05:02 PM
ive had that problem, though not the infected part. just pick up a pick for the meantime.

JMDavis07
01-08-2008, 05:05 PM
Pop 'em, clean them, apply neosporin, bandage, play through the pain.

Helps them to heal faster and turns them into callouses a bit faster.

Do the deed.

windmill0466
01-08-2008, 05:05 PM
Don't stop. Not for a month at least. Maybe play softer til the pain goes down but DON'T stop for a whole month. The same thing happend to my thumb when I learned to double slap. I loved that pain cause it told me I was getting somewhere. Haha and now my bassist friends and I compare blisters and such all the time.

But yes. Keep playing. Where your scars proudly at least.

bassrage
01-08-2008, 09:04 PM
ive had that problem, though not the infected part. just pick up a pick for the meantime.
please do the world a favour and dont 'pick up a pick'.. yeah i totally agree with the other guys that you should play through it.

FullMetalBass
01-08-2008, 09:06 PM
please do the world a favour and dont 'pick up a pick'.. yeah i totally agree with the other guys that you should play through it.
As to not start another pick vs fingers thread please cut it out.