Is it possible to play bass through a PA system?


PDA

View Full Version : Is it possible to play bass through a PA system?


jakethesnakeLP
02-11-2008, 09:11 PM
Got no money foran amp, and I go a gig this weekend!

Deliriumbassist
02-11-2008, 09:12 PM
A bassist using the PA is pretty common practice, actually.

mrcool123456789
02-11-2008, 09:15 PM
I know jack about PAs, but could you not do i direct hookup to the mixing desk?
Don't take my word for it though...

jakethesnakeLP
02-11-2008, 09:16 PM
Wow, can i put my mic and bass in it at the same time?

Opus Pocus
02-11-2008, 09:17 PM
Geddy Lee does it, so can you.

83lespaulstudio
02-11-2008, 09:18 PM
Edit:
a mind is such a terrible thing to waste!
:cool:

i know it's spam, but it's sarcastic spam.

viper_mike
02-11-2008, 09:19 PM
I know jack about PAs, but could you not do i direct hookup to the mixing desk?


the mixing desk is what the PA is connected to.

providing the PA system has a subwoofer (which i'm hoping it does) then it'll be okay. ofcourse you wouldn't be able to change your tone unless you had a pedal setup

jakethesnakeLP
02-11-2008, 09:20 PM
I can give a **** as long as my bass goes "dirnt, dirnt"

jakethesnakeLP
02-11-2008, 09:21 PM
Awesome! Now, what about basses? I need a cheap but good bass, quick!

d3mon slay
02-11-2008, 09:23 PM
so you have a gig soon and you dont even have a bass?.........dude

BassRichardson
02-11-2008, 09:25 PM
Squier Vintage Modified Jazz Bass.

Deliriumbassist
02-11-2008, 09:49 PM
Squier Vintage Modified Jazz Bass.

so you have a gig soon and you dont even have a bass?.........dude


Guys... read the first post again, maybe twice more, just in case, and tell us when you realise that he said he doesn't have an AMP.

Zar938
02-11-2008, 09:52 PM
if you mic the bass, it will not sound the same as it would through the P.A or an amp. If you mic the bass you're basically just listening to the strings vibrate, and not using the pickups at all, which is a waste of time, DO NOT DO THIS, you will get laughed at.

As for a bass, check the FAQ, they've got great beginner basses in there.

If you're going through the P.A. You'd probably need a really long cord, because you have no idea how far away the P.A. system is from the stage. It sounds kind of like you've never played bass before though, so how are you expecting to play a show this weekend? I say just ask the place you're playing if they have any instruments, or ask a friend, you'll be better off.

Edit, To Ben: you missed this post:

Awesome! Now, what about basses? I need a cheap but good bass, quick!

thegiaco2112
02-11-2008, 09:52 PM
Squier Vintage Modified Jazz Bass.


x2

83lespaulstudio
02-11-2008, 09:53 PM
Awesome! Now, what about basses? I need a cheap but good bass, quick!
Sorry, Ben.
seems he doesn't have a bass, either.
:cool:

BadBishop
02-11-2008, 09:54 PM
I have to ask, do you even know how to play bass? Or are you one of those people with friends in a band that want you to play in the band so they make you play bass? Man this reminds me of a bunch of bassist jokes right now.

Deliriumbassist
02-11-2008, 09:54 PM
Sorry, Ben.
seems he doesn't have a bass, either.
:cool:

...

oh yeah.

...

Jesus christ, you have a gig but no bass? What the hell?

Zar938
02-11-2008, 09:55 PM
I have to ask, do you even know how to play bass? Or are you one of those people with friends in a band that want you to play bass because they say it's easy? Man this reminds me a bunch of bassist jokes right now.


that's what I think... i mean, he asked if he could put a mic up to an Electric Bass :(

Twone_
02-11-2008, 10:34 PM
Yes, but it doesn't sound too good.

t3hrav3n
02-11-2008, 10:46 PM
To Zar938: He said
Wow, can i put my mic and bass in it at the same time?
No, he asked if he could use both a mic and a bass in the PA at the same time. He doesn't know anything about PA's, but he knows at least something about playing bass to figure out he might could run one through a PA.

At any rate, the guy either genuinely doesn't know and doesn't own a bass or amp, or he's some guy out for attention. I figure the latter, but humoring him is about all the exitement we get on the bass forums.

Zar938
02-11-2008, 10:50 PM
To Zar938: He said

No, he asked if he could use both a mic and a bass in the PA at the same time. He doesn't know anything about PA's, but he knows at least something about playing bass to figure out he might could run one through a PA.

At any rate, the guy either genuinely doesn't know and doesn't own a bass or amp, or he's some guy out for attention. I figure the latter, but humoring him is about all the exitement we get on the bass forums.

wow thanks, i totally did not read that correctly, :(

I apologize, for the comments I made, i just didn't read though it well enough, i'm not even sure what i read that made me think he just wanted to mic the strings :confused:

Hergiswi
02-11-2008, 11:00 PM
Now, on the off-chance that this isn't complete spam, what the hell are you doing booking a gig without any equipment whatsoever?

slap-a-bass
02-12-2008, 02:17 AM
good luck lol

groll01
02-12-2008, 02:43 AM
you cant just run a long cable from your bass because the output is unbalanced, you need a DI box to make the signal balanced then the cable can be as long as you want.
hopefully the sound guy has a DI box.

c3powil
02-12-2008, 08:29 AM
Has no one else made the connection?
Ozzypossum...
Jakethesnake...
They are both animals with names...

Nutter_101
02-12-2008, 09:05 AM
Has no one else made the connection?
Ozzypossum...
Jakethesnake...
They are both animals with names...

...
:eek:

He might be right chaps!

I call BS!!!

Edit: Also, you said in an earlier thread that you've been playing your bass through a guitar amp.

Where's the bass now?

thefitz
02-12-2008, 09:08 AM
...
:eek:

He might be right chaps!

I call BS!!!
Join date's far too early - and Jake the Snake was a wrestler, whereas Ozzypossum was just an arsehole.

BTW, Ozzypossum was the same dude was EpiphoneSG41 or whatever the hell it was?

Nutter_101
02-12-2008, 09:10 AM
Thought it was Desolation_row0?

Ah well. I was just jumping on a bandwagon here...

Just hoping to be accepted by you all! :(

FbSa
02-12-2008, 05:39 PM
If you don't have a bass, or an amp, or any clue about PA's. I'm wondering how you got a gig.

Revelation
02-13-2008, 03:11 AM
i'm gonna go out on a limb and say it'll be his first gig or close to it and there was an accident involving the loss/destruction/both of his rig.... or he's screwin with us...either way. yes it can be done and your sound guy can adjust your tone at the mixing board if he has a decent one.