Am I good enough to start a Band?

PDA

View Full Version : Am I good enough to start a Band?

crystal63
02-15-2008, 05:23 PM
1.I 've been playing for about a year and 1/2. self taught

2.I have a pretty good ear(I figured out the whole "enter sand man" by ear. )

3. Don't know much theory. And don't read music or tabs.

4. I always come with with cool riifs and show it to my friends(who don't play guitar) and their like "This is awesome"

5. I Can't Improvise well, But if I take my time I can write a good solo over any backing track.

6. I can count beats and play perfectly with the metronome once I learn a riff.

7. I can't shred, but thats mainly cuz, I can't figure out shred songs by ear. But I think my fingers are fast.

8. I like all music but mostly alternative metal.

9. I played the entire "hybrid theory" album by Linkin park with the recording, but those are the only songs I know from Begining to end.

10. I suck At Gear and know nothing about getting different tones or recording equipment.

I found this drummer and DJ, That a really want to start a band with. But he seems like he has lots of experience performing and I have zero band experience. I really feel like my riffs are as good as ones on tv or radio. But at the same time I feel I'm not a good guitarist. I Just Don't want to embarass myself. Please Help!

guitargod21136
02-15-2008, 05:28 PM
well that's better than most **** i see so go head...

guitargod21136
not any worse than anything else out there

MrDinkleberry
Yes you can start a band. Don't ever feel you're not adequate. If you can't do something learn more about it or practice it. You'll never know anything about gear or getting good tone out of your guitar if you don't face it and learn about it. The DJ can teach you all you need to know about gear/tone. So do it! Make sure you get a good singer and a good bass player and you will be set. The DJ will help ALOT.

nebiru
02-15-2008, 05:29 PM
Well... you should be able to at least improvise.