Two Jazz Questions!

PDA

View Full Version : Two Jazz Questions!

theacousticpunk
02-27-2008, 01:22 AM
Okay, like the title says, I've got two questions. Legitimate answers are appreciated!:peace:
1. I started really learning theory over the summer to join jazz band (which I got into), and recently I've been told to try to start playing chords without the root. My question is, how do you get over traditional chord voicing (like E and A bar chords), and start doing rootless chords?
2. What is a good way (eq x guitar vol/tone x pickup) to get a nice light jazz tone? Gear is in sig. Right now I'm using the Tech21 and the Washburn.

Like I said, any help would be vastly appreciated! :peace:

Edit: The Washburn is solid alder, with master volume and tone controls, H-S-S, 81-SA-SA.

moptopcooper
02-27-2008, 01:38 AM
Well, I'm not a jazz expert but i also play in a school jazz band (I'm assuming the band's for school?) but i'll try to help.

1. Rootless chords. The easiest way to do this is to play your chord (such as a D13, for example) and simply omit the root note. This probably isn't the most professional way to do it... but it seems to work for me :) Also, it may behoove you to omit the 5th of the chord as well, seeing as it adds little value to the note played by the bass (the omitted root note of your chord)

2. I find that the tone that works best in a full jazz band setting is one that is nice and mellow. This keeps your trebles from interfering with other "trebly" instruments such as the trumpet. I usually keep the bass at about 6, the mids at 8 and the treble at 6.5-ish... and perhaps lower depending on your amp.

Hope this helps. If a more knowledgeable jazz musician comes along, please, correct me :)

Axegrinder#9
02-27-2008, 03:20 AM
well you could try rootless chords, or even better alter the root - it's crazy how you can form different chord voices out of a basic shape (a 13th or like a min7#11) - try it!

Nick_
02-27-2008, 05:58 PM