Upcoming Gig Advice Required.

PDA

View Full Version : Upcoming Gig Advice Required.

Guitardude19
03-06-2008, 08:08 PM
I need some advice on the following situation.

I have a gig that might happen. I am a solo musician because Im finding it very hard to find people to play with. Anway thats not the issue. The issue is backing tracks...

Ive recorded 4 original pieces of music, but only the chord progression and bass lines on my home PC but the quality is shoddy so I wont be using that.

I phoned a few recording studios and none of them can gauruntee a good quality recording and they are charging 60 for something like 3 hours studio time. I could go down this route as it is better than my home recording equipmet.

However, I already have the backing tracks in Midi format... Should I settle with Midi and leave it at that knowing that it will just sound like Midi or do I go and spend 60 recording all the parts again... I want a good sound but I really dont want to use the Midi as it doesnt sound authentic.

Its impossible for me to find anyone to play with at the moment... Any advice?

Thanks.

HenryJoe
03-06-2008, 08:21 PM
i bet some idiot is gonna think ur playing all that alone and call u a god

shortyafter
03-06-2008, 09:11 PM
How shoddy are your recordings? Unless you've got semi-decent equipment/experience, then pretty much any studio recording will be better than your own. They probably can't guarantee radio-quality recordings, but that doesn't mean their recordings won't sound fairly reasonable.

The ideal option would be to go to the studio. I wouldn't do the midi thing, it will probably sound too fake. Whatever you do, just remember that they're only backing tracks. People aren't going to care if they sound 100% professional or not. If you can afford the time, money, and effort it takes to go to the studio, do that. But you can always just use your own recordings or the midis.

axemanchris
03-07-2008, 12:21 AM