Whats the point?

PDA

View Full Version : Whats the point?

manmanster
03-08-2008, 11:43 PM
Alright. Let me give you guys a little background story as to the nation of my predicament.

So I've been playing guitar for about three years now. For the first year I was mainly into rock, and focused on that. But by my second year, I joined my High School's jazz band and started to like jazz a great deal. I started taking private lessons, specifically for jazz, and jazz only. I've been focused on that for about 2 years, I practice every day, I'm an extremely skilled improviser, I sing what I play, I know a great deal of chord theory and voicings, I play a hollowbody, I listen to a good deal of jazz, although I am not the greatest sight reader in the world (I still nail all my charts though).

This leads me to my principle point of contention.

I went to competition today, one of several I've already gone to. The judicator's taped judication and comments still don't remark upon anything that I do. I have two solos, I'm clearly audible (but not blaring), I had other members of my jazz band who never really comment on my playing, and said my solos' and changing were tight, that for one tune we did, my note choice was perfect. And still, AGAIN. THE ****ING JUDICATORS IGNORE MY EXISTENCE. One is a jazz ****ing guitar player for christ's sake!

Its bad enough that studying jazz guitar in the academic world is almost impossible. Its bad enough my director doesn't know what comping is. Its bad enough that my director wants me to turn down my volume to nothing. Its bad enough that as an instrument, (sans solo artists whos focus is guitar) it contributes NOTHING to a jazz band, but now I am not even presented with the means to improve myself via a third party talking of my mistakes and merits.