Question about starting a solo project

PDA

View Full Version : Question about starting a solo project

Iplayblues
03-18-2008, 08:25 PM
Ok so first off i didn't really know where to put this so i'm sorry if its in the wrong spot!

But i have been trying to put together a band for several months now. More specifically a blues trio. I have been playing guitar for 4 years now and can play drums, bass, sax, and several other instruments.

The only problem is that most of the people where i live want to play metalcore or metal. So i've been thinking about starting my own solo project seeing as i can sing and play guitar. Now i thought this would be a great thing for me to get my name out there and maybe eventually find some people to start a band. I am mainly an electric guitarist, but most "solo artists" play acoustic guitar and gradually go into electric.

I was just wondering if electric guitar can stand by itself as well as an acoustic guitar can? I don't mind acoustic, i just enjoy solos and stuff haha. I was also just wondering going out and playing some small gigs at coffee shops and stuff would be a good idea or if i should just wait a few more months and try to find a band. Oh and any tips about recording or getting gigs would be greatly appreciated.

af_the_fragile
03-18-2008, 09:11 PM
Hell yeah, you can do anything you want in you solo project. Afterall its YOUR solo project!

I've got the same problem as you too. I've sorta given up looking for the proper bandmates, well, i did find a good band but i couldn't commit to it anymore so i left it.

Anyway, I'm currently working on my first solo project. Its gonna be a mix of acoustic/electronic/experimental. Well, i'm not really sure what its gonna be, but i know its definitely gonna have acoustic and electronic parts to it.