question about tuning up on a 5 string.

PDA

View Full Version : question about tuning up on a 5 string.

samlocke14
03-20-2008, 02:00 AM
im a guitarist speaking on behalf of my bands bass player.

he has a 5 string and we play in drop b and he was wondering if he could tune the other strings up to the drop b tuning: B F# B E A#? or weather to drop the whole bass down to: G# B F# B E? what would you all recomend?
its a yamaha 5 string btw

AVA_Plus44_182
03-20-2008, 02:11 AM
If you play in drop B then definitely don't tune his bass up, there's no point. If anything he'll have an easier time playing in standard 5-string tuning because his strings will have more spacing of notes between each string, making certain riffs easier to play. But the main reason for not tuning up is because there's a very good chance it'll damage the neck, and possibly break the strings.

fitbband
he shouldnt have to drop anything, his lowest string will already be a low B. so he will just have find where the notes will be. So he will be playing something different while you guys play your guitars, he will be playing the same notes, it will just look different.

fitbband
he shouldnt have to drop anything, his lowest string will already be a low B. so he will just have find where the notes will be. So he will be playing something different while you guys play your guitars, he will be playing the same notes, it will just look different.

matosh.lee
03-20-2008, 02:16 AM
If you play in drop B then definitely don't tune his bass up, there's no point. If anything he'll have an easier time playing in standard 5-string tuning because his strings will have more spacing of notes between each string, making certain riffs easier to play. But the main reason for not tuning up is because there's a very good chance it'll damage the neck, and possibly break the strings.