How hard is it to learn to play the banjo?

PDA

View Full Version : How hard is it to learn to play the banjo?

freshtunes
03-21-2008, 01:33 AM
I've been playing guitar for 5 years now, and also play sax, bass, drums, and piano. Is there a big learning curve to the banjo? Any information would be appreciated. Thanks.

Beakwithteeth
03-21-2008, 01:34 AM
I tried, I failed.

I actually gave up really early but I thik it would be really tough to get used to the finger picks. But hey, I say go for it, banjos kick too much ass.

dio_dude
03-21-2008, 01:35 AM
hard. it's such a hard switch

Straplocks
03-21-2008, 01:36 AM
Guys, explain why. I'm curious too.

XxXLuisanXxX
03-21-2008, 01:38 AM
If it it's hard because of fingerpicking, thats dumb. Everyone should be able to play not just with their thumbs, but the middle, index and ring finger. It opens a whole new world of possiblities, take Jerry's Breakdown as an example.

freshtunes
03-21-2008, 01:40 AM
Well I've been learning finger picking for a couple months now. Just working out some simple stuff, running through a few lessons and exercises.

mgetz
03-21-2008, 01:41 AM
Its easy if you're half-decent at finger-picking.

Zugunruhe
03-21-2008, 01:41 AM
If it it's hard because of fingerpicking, thats dumb. Everyone should be able to play not just with their thumbs, but the middle, index and ring finger. It opens a whole new world of possiblities, take Jerry's Breakdown as an example.winwinwinwinwinwinwin. this individual wins.

i only fingerpick nowadays. single notes arent enough of a high anymore.

clawhammer is a pretty hard technique, but its damn impressive. anyway, youre gonna learn to fingerpick. its a very cool instrument when well played.

reaper_x
03-21-2008, 01:43 AM
i can play the banjo with my teeth and both my hands tied behind my back while
having sex with Carmen Electra in the gym while doing weights.

i know, im god.

Beakwithteeth
03-21-2008, 01:43 AM