So I'm just getting into blues

PDA

View Full Version : So I'm just getting into blues

sneaky_snake
04-21-2008, 09:52 PM
Really started to like it when I saw the movie Black Snake Moan and was just wondering, since I don't know much about the genre, what style is Jackson playing when it starts to thunder outside? I really like the heavy feel of dread and despair that accompanies that particular sound, it's like nothing I've ever heard before.

imgooley
04-21-2008, 09:58 PM
Lulz, I love that movie. Carswell doesn't though.

It sounds like he is playing in open G Minor or straight open G. It's just a basic one chord slide blues, kinda like some older Howlin Wolf stuff.

TBH, that movie is part of what made me want to play guitar. That purple ES 335 is smexy. And try some Blind Willie Johnson as well, specifically Jesus Make Up My Dying Bed and Dark Was the Night, Cold Was the Ground. They have the same aesthetic to them.

GOO EDIT:

Also look up the original song Black Snake Moan, by Blind Lemon Jefferson. Hard Time Killing Floor Blues and Devil Got My Woman by Skip James as well.

sneaky_snake
04-21-2008, 10:02 PM
Thanks there buddy I will

goeke
04-21-2008, 10:02 PM
in reply to the Blues question.
Black snake moan is a good blues esque movie. Another stars the karate
kid ralph macchio it also stars steve vai as the devil it is based on a true story about Ry cooder it is called Crossroads its a late 1980's movie.
anyways back to your qquestion about samuel L jackson in (B.S.M) he is playing detuned I believe open G tuning mississippi delta blues style.
this is fairly easy to play! you can even play in drop D tunning or DADFAD tune.
have any questions about any blues questions email me at Victorgoeke@gmail.com

imgooley
04-21-2008, 10:10 PM
Also look into Oh Brother, Where Art Thou for another blues movie.

Vagabond21
04-21-2008, 10:14 PM
The kind of juke joint blues Jackson played in the movie was largely based on the North mississippi blues.