Blues/Jazz N00b Question Thread

PDA

View Full Version : Blues/Jazz N00b Question Thread

imgooley
06-14-2008, 08:34 PM
Well, after being on UG for a while, I have noticed that many, many people have certain misconceptions about Blues and Jazz, so in order to educate young n00bz and n00blettes in the way of the blues and/or jazz, I think it would be a good idea to have a thread where said n00bz can ask questions about different styles of blues/jazz, how to play either, etc.

If this ain't a good idea, let me know, and I'll get rid of it.

Sdooper_Man
06-14-2008, 08:42 PM
yo, I'm a rock /metal guitarist looking to learn something new to base solos off of to add more emotion to my ****. so it'd be chill if you could explain some basic blues prog and scales that i should know.

imgooley
06-14-2008, 09:24 PM
The most basic blues progression is the I IV V progression. So in the key of E it would be E A B. The most common progression is the 12 bar progression, where it has the I through the first 4 bars, the IV on the next two bars, back to the I for the next 2 bars, then the V for 1 bar, the IV for one bar and then back to the one for the last 2 bars

so

/ I / I / I / I /
IV IV I / I
V IV I / I or V

so in E

E x 4, A x 2, E x 2, B x 1, A x1, E x 1 and either E or B x1

The last bar is a turnaround phrase. Oftentimes, songs will use the IV to lead into the next verse or chorus.

As far as soloing, you can either play it straight through or modulate. You can play the same lick over the entire progression, or you can play the root on the change. Either is fine, just make sure that what you play sounds right to you.

I hope that helped.

Pink Zeptallica
06-15-2008, 08:48 AM
Obviously, the pentatonic scales as well as their modes.

imgooley
06-29-2008, 12:07 AM
bump

GD_GC
06-29-2008, 12:15 AM
I like this idea, maybe kinda like that lesson thread thing that never got off the ground. I'm here to help with theory/soloing/licks/whatever anyone needs.

:cheers: