Is it bad to plug in the cable while the amp is turned on?


PDA

View Full Version : Is it bad to plug in the cable while the amp is turned on?


Laces Out Danny
07-14-2008, 11:13 PM
Well is it?

marshmellow666
07-14-2008, 11:17 PM
that's what i've heard

i unno

Vitamin_A
07-14-2008, 11:18 PM
i say yes

pwrmax
07-14-2008, 11:19 PM
There's a reason these were invented, either saving the amp or just saving the horrendous sound when unplugging an amp that's on.

http://www.goeme.com.tw/goods/cable/Planet%20Waves%20Circuit%20Breaker%20Cable%2010-Foot%20Angled.jpg

dougl126
07-14-2008, 11:35 PM
thats what I've been told, dont know why exactly, but yeah makes sense

apollo66
07-15-2008, 09:28 AM
Yes, you can blow out your speaker.

Horlicks
07-15-2008, 09:37 AM
Not at all.

Fama
07-15-2008, 09:39 AM
Not at all.
I read from some thread that the "pop" can be bad for your speakers. Not "blow your speakers out"-bad, more like "flick the lightswitch repeatedly"-bad.

apollo66
07-15-2008, 09:43 AM
Ok, tell that to the speaker I watched my Jazz teacher blow out.

And the cab I watched some idiot blow out at GC after he cranked it, turned it on, THEN plugged in the guitar.

char_107
07-15-2008, 10:12 AM
how about plugging the cable to the guitar first, THEN the amp
thats how i had to do it at guitar lessons on a fender hot rod deluxe and that thing never had speaker issues

Horlicks
07-15-2008, 10:19 AM
I've never had speaker issues doing it the other way round, the pop is no louder than most of my playing.

papersun87
07-15-2008, 10:30 AM
Are we talking about plugging the cable in/out the AMP, or plugging the cable in/out of the GUITAR?

Edit: Because if we're talking about the amp, then it's fine. I've done it a hundred times and never had any problems.

The red Strat.
07-15-2008, 10:47 AM
I've never had speaker issues doing it the other way round, the pop is no louder than most of my playing.
no, but it's the kind of sound wave the pop makes. it's something the speaker isn't designed to handle, and it will damage the speaker at higher volumes. it's not recommendable at lower volumes either.

Fama
07-15-2008, 10:59 AM
it's not something the speaker isn't designed to handle
You bastard! You just killed english.

"It's not something the speaker isn't designed to handle"

And when you remove the negatives (both negatives go away so the meaning is the same, right?)

"It is something the speaker is designed to handle"

So I'm guessing you made a mistake too?

TNfootballfan62
07-15-2008, 11:03 AM
I usually just switch my amp over to standby to switch guitars (whether im switching cables to my amp or to my guitar) out of habit. I wouldn't think it would be a huge deal, but better safe than sorry. It only takes 2 more seconds than just switching.

Fama
07-15-2008, 11:06 AM
I usually just switch my amp over to standby to switch guitars (whether im switching cables to my amp or to my guitar) out of habit. I wouldn't think it would be a huge deal, but better safe than sorry. It only takes 2 more seconds than just switching.
I do that too. I also hate the buzzing and popping that can happen - even if it doesn't do any harm, I don't like it.

The red Strat.
07-15-2008, 11:19 AM
You bastard! You just killed english.

"It's not something the speaker isn't designed to handle"

And when you remove the negatives (both negatives go away so the meaning is the same, right?)

"It is something the speaker is designed to handle"

So I'm guessing you made a mistake too?
http://www.forumspile.com/Blank-Picard_Facepalm.jpg

:p:

(check my edit :) )

stevo_epi_SG_wo
07-15-2008, 11:29 AM
how does unplugging the cable from the amp enough so theres no sound from the guitar, but its still in the hole, then unplugging the guitar?

or turning the amp volume to zero?

i've never had issues and im sure i've seen pros change on stage and get the pop/buzz

CJRocker
07-15-2008, 12:07 PM
Unplugging the cable from the amp makes no noise. Plugging your guitar in makes a pop which can damage speakers at high volumes. Circuit breaker cables can occasionally make a slight pop, so they're really only good for lower volumes on amps without a standby. Otherwise, go to standby or unplug your cable from the input of the amp first.

Laces Out Danny
07-16-2008, 04:47 AM
okay
thanks guys

Kid_Thorazine
07-16-2008, 04:53 AM
It will be ok as long as your volume isn't close to being maxed out.