Pale Moonlight (Genre-Inside) -GP5/4, MIDI, C4C-

PDA

View Full Version : Pale Moonlight (Genre-Inside) -GP5/4, MIDI, C4C-

Slaytanic1993
09-11-2008, 05:11 PM
Firstly, sorry to those who responded to my last song, I will crit yours soon...I've been a tad more busy pampering this song.

Alright, this is my first attempt at merging black metal and post-hardcore. It has less black metal bits, but I think they fit well. The PH parts are more similar to the more popular post-hardcore/almost alt. bands like early My Chemical Romance, The Used, and some influence from My Bloody Valentine. Lasted a bit longer than I originally expected it to be.

Alright, since this is my (or anyones, I think) first attempt at this don't kill me if it's that bad.

bloodshed344
09-11-2008, 08:26 PM
Oh sorry, nevermind. I didn't notice what you said at the top.

Broadsword
09-11-2008, 09:56 PM
When doing something like this, you have to have either damn good transitions between separate genres or merge the genres with eachother. In all honesty, this was neither. The BM parts seemed randomly placed, and the lack of any real transition coupled with a sudden key change is a recipe for bad juju. You have the right idea, but the wrong way of going about it. Unfortunately, I can't really offer any suggestions as I have little to no experience with hardcore or alt. What I can say though is that perhaps the merging route would be better; ie, maybe mixing tremolo lines with the chord progressions, which in turn lead up into solely BM sections, then back out, and so on and so forth. Or you could completely drop any BM parts and have a nice (insert strange alt. genre here) song. :p:

That being said, I dug the song and the idea behind it. Innovation is always great to see.

Slaytanic1993
09-11-2008, 10:10 PM
Dammit :(

Well, I'll work on it as much as possible, simply because I want to see this type of music go somewhere.

Broadsword
09-11-2008, 10:19 PM
Of course!