converting tab


PDA

View Full Version : converting tab


bblaedorn
09-19-2008, 01:36 PM
I was told by someone that one can convert tabs here to mandolin. Is this true? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

djjiles
09-19-2008, 01:46 PM
Learn to read music. Then convert the tab.

james4
09-19-2008, 01:54 PM
theres no 'convert to mandolin' button or anything, but if you know how to read music, you can do it.

If you've got guitar pro, download the file, then change the instrument from 'acoustic guitar', or 'electric guitar', or whatever to 'mandolin', then click on it to change the tuning. When you change the tuning, it'll give you the option to transpose the tab to have the same notes in a different tuning (or to have the same tab numbers, changing the notes). Choose the option that changes the tab numbers and keeps the original notes, and badda boom badda bing, mandolin tab.

I think it also works on Powertab, but I haven't used that program in a while, so I'm not sure