How long should you practice/day?

PDA

View Full Version : How long should you practice/day?

Randy Bobandy
10-08-2008, 12:22 PM
Is there a minumum amount of time that you should practice each day if you want to get considerably good, in say about a year? That is what I'm trying to do. I'ved "played around" with guitar and bass for about 5 years, but last summer i started learning theory and really committed and "focused" on guitar by practicing daily, each day. I'm up to about 3 hours a day but my problem is what exactly is the most effective material to be learning? Should it be more about scales/modes/theory or simply learning songs? I hear stories of people just focusing on a weakness for an hour a day, and conversly people who play for 10 hours. So what do you guys do?

MopMaster
10-08-2008, 12:26 PM
I do whatever I can, which is anything between half an hour and 3 hours during the week, I pretty much always have an afternoon-long jam on the weekend too.

So in total, something like 10 hours a week? Ish?

*edit* I usually do something like 50% learning songs, 25% theory and technique, 25% messing around. Obviously, this changes depending on what I'm working towards, but that's the general formula.

benedge89
10-08-2008, 12:30 PM
you could do a yngwie and practice ten hours a day for six years...

cthuludawn21
10-08-2008, 12:30 PM
i play whenever i want to. i don't set aside time or play for a minimum. i don't even look at the clock. if i feel i want to, i do. i might pick it up and play for five minutes, or two hours... guitar should be fun and natural, it shouldn't be rigorous chore and homework. obviously, if you play 10 hrs a day you'll progress faster than someone who picks up the guitar 2 hrs a week, but who cares? it's not about how you compare to others, its about enjoying the moment.

M.B.MetalTabber
10-08-2008, 12:31 PM
It's completley down to you and what you feel you need/want to do. I quite often just play for hours a day to pass the time.