UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com

UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/index.php)
-   Recordings (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=40)
-   -   Brand new soundcard making "clicking" noises (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1565268)

Standarduser 09-28-2012 08:55 AM

Brand new soundcard making "clicking" noises
 
Ive bought Lexicon Alpha and eveything was set up and the sound works. Problem is that once ive tried watching some tv show on the comp there was a silent moment and i heared annyoing "clicking" from the speakers. The clicks never stop, and are always there(i havent noticed before since i only listened to loud music). Ive tried listening with headphones, and they have those clicks too.

What is the problem?

ChemicalFire 09-28-2012 09:26 AM

Sounds like a connection issue of some kind.

shreddymcshred 09-28-2012 10:57 AM

too much pr0n

masterofpuppies 09-28-2012 10:58 AM

Can you describe what you mean by clicking. It it a simlar patter evenly spaced? I know mine clicks when the printer is plugged in - it could just be electrical like that.

AmirT 09-28-2012 11:17 AM

Increasing the buffer size will probably solve the problem.

fastlanestoner 09-28-2012 11:50 AM

could be digital jitter. Is it a firewire connection?

SwoobGuitar 09-28-2012 11:52 AM

Do you have your microphone always on? With the "Listen to..." box checked? I have that same kind of clicks from my microphone (even though I don't have any plugged in).

BjarnedeGraaf 09-28-2012 12:10 PM

try getting the newest drivers
or use their support forums for troubleshooting in addition to this forum

mikey85123 09-28-2012 02:06 PM

It will most likely be a buffer size or driver issue. The point of the ASIO driver and buffer is to achieve as close to zero latency as possible so as to not experience delays when recording. This process stresses your processor and if you don't have at least a Core 2 Duo you will most likely experience this. It could also be the driver itself. Unfortunately, many manufacturers drivers do not play well with certain computers. If installing the newest drivers and increasing buffer size does not solve the problem, then your next best bet that seems to always fix this problem is to install a driver called ASIO4ALL which is a universal ASIO driver that works very well.

Standarduser 09-29-2012 03:43 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by fastlanestoner
could be digital jitter. Is it a firewire connection?


Whats a firewire connection?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AmirT
Increasing the buffer size will probably solve the problem.


Where can i do that?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SwoobGuitar
Do you have your microphone always on? With the "Listen to..." box checked? I have that same kind of clicks from my microphone (even though I don't have any plugged in).


Where i can check that?

BjarnedeGraaf 09-29-2012 05:42 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Standarduser
Whats a firewire connection?
http://lmgtfy.com/?q=Firewire+connection

Where can i do that?
I don't know this 1, sorry


Where i can check that?
Right click the volume logo near the clock in the lower right corner, click Recording devices, check your microphone settings there.


There u go :P

Standarduser 09-29-2012 10:04 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by BjarnedeGraaf
There u go :P



I have my Lexicon Alpha "in/out" in recording devices and thats it. I do have a microphone, and it does record music - how come my samson q7 doesnt show up in recording devices?

lockwolf 09-29-2012 10:07 AM

/facepalm

Because the input for the Lexicon doesn't know what mic you're using. Its just an input. Hell, you can plug a Neumann U87 into it and it won't pop up with a box saying its a U87...

mikey85123 09-29-2012 12:01 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by lockwolf
/facepalm

Because the input for the Lexicon doesn't know what mic you're using. Its just an input. Hell, you can plug a Neumann U87 into it and it won't pop up with a box saying its a U87...


LOL that's funny. :haha: I'm sorry OP i'm not meaning to make fun.

oneblackened 09-29-2012 09:35 PM

Is it near any leds like a hard drive access LED?

My Saffire 6 USB pops when the LED turns on and off if it's plugged into a port near the LED.

Luckily my laptop has 2 USB ports on the other side anyway.

Standarduser 09-30-2012 04:53 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by lockwolf
/facepalm

Because the input for the Lexicon doesn't know what mic you're using. Its just an input. Hell, you can plug a Neumann U87 into it and it won't pop up with a box saying its a U87...



So how i make it show up? The mic has only one XLR cable and thats it.

oneblackened 09-30-2012 07:15 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Standarduser
So how i make it show up? The mic has only one XLR cable and thats it.

You misunderstand. Mics don't show up, the interface's inputs do.

Standarduser 10-01-2012 06:18 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by oneblackened
You misunderstand. Mics don't show up, the interface's inputs do.



You mean the mic has a software somewhere that needs to be installed?

I would appreciate it if you will elaborate :confused: :confused: :confused:

mikey85123 10-01-2012 04:56 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Standarduser
You mean the mic has a software somewhere that needs to be installed?

I would appreciate it if you will elaborate :confused: :confused: :confused:


Man you're lucky you're not getting flamed haha. The microphone is only a device that collects sound waves and sends a signal through the wire to the interface. The interface does not care what microphone you have plugged in....same with the computer. You could choose any microphone out of 200 and plug it in and it will work.

On your computer you select the Lexicon for input and output.

Where do you stand right at this moment? Have you tried anything? Is the clicking still coming from the speakers?

BjarnedeGraaf 10-02-2012 02:39 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikey85123
Man you're lucky you're not getting flamed haha. The microphone is only a device that collects sound waves and sends a signal through the wire to the interface. The interface does not care what microphone you have plugged in....same with the computer. You could choose any microphone out of 200 and plug it in and it will work.

On your computer you select the Lexicon for input and output.

Where do you stand right at this moment? Have you tried anything? Is the clicking still coming from the speakers?


Could be the speakers too, sometime ago I started to hear (very softly) a radiostation through my boxes/bassbox. xD not sure if that would be the same why your speakers are "clicking" xD, somehow it just stopped for me :P


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:06 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.