UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com

UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/index.php)
-   Guitar Gear & Accessories (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=33)
-   -   Ohm ? (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1566283)

roaddawg07 10-04-2012 05:57 PM

Ohm ?
 
My amp head has 5 outputs two 4 ohm,two 8ohm and one 16 ohm.My question is can I plug a 4 ohm and 8 ohm cabinets at the same time. Could someone please explain why or why not this would work Thanks.

Kevin Saale 10-04-2012 06:07 PM

It depends on how its all wired up. Do you have the schematic or the manual for your amp? Would be useful to know what amp it is as well. Other than that, asking the manufacturer is generally a good idea.

roaddawg07 10-04-2012 07:25 PM

It's a Black heart Bh 15.No manual

Kevin Saale 10-04-2012 07:37 PM

http://www.blackhearteng.com/pdf/BH15H_OM.pdf

Looks like you can't do it. Page 6 and 7 are what you're looking for.

gumbilicious 10-05-2012 03:56 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by roaddawg07
My amp head has 5 outputs two 4 ohm,two 8ohm and one 16 ohm.My question is can I plug a 4 ohm and 8 ohm cabinets at the same time.


no

Quote:
Originally Posted by roaddawg07
Could someone please explain why or why not this would work Thanks.


because you amp has a transformer that convert impedance from the output tubes to match the speakers. this is known as impedance matching.

the transformer has a number of wires wrapped around one another that converts the impedance to different values. the jacks out the back are connected to the taps on the transformer (taps are the connections points for those wires).

when you use a transformer, you need to use only 1 tap from the transformer and the impedance needs to match the impedance from the tap. else you have problems.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:01 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.