UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com

UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/index.php)
-   Guitar Gear & Accessories (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=33)
-   -   Amp input jack issues (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1570589)

food1010 10-30-2012 02:30 PM

Amp input jack issues
 
I have an Ampeg BA-115 bass amp. I've always gotten a little bit of static from the amp, but it was always a minor issue so I never did anything about it. Recently I've been getting some loss of signal (not a complete cut-out, just a little bit less output). I wiggled the chord a bit in the input jack and found I could get the static to go away and get full output. My only conclusion is that there is a loose connection in the input jack.

Now I have no idea if the issue is from the jack itself, the solder joints on the circuit board, or if there is a tear in the foil on the circuit board. My first instinct was just to buy a new input jack and replace the old one but now I'm wondering if this can be fixed without a whole new part.

Thoughts?

R45VT 10-30-2012 03:15 PM

Depends on which part is bad/worn.

Just replace it. Even if you bend a prong back chances are it will do it again.

fly135 10-30-2012 06:42 PM

Probably the solder joint just needs to be heated and reflowed. All the pots and jacks may need it.

KrymsinViking 10-30-2012 06:44 PM

Have you checked that its not the cord? Iv had that exact problem when my cables have gotten worn out. Make sure it happens with multiple cables before you go messing with your jack.

food1010 11-07-2012 05:29 PM

So I ordered a new jack but it was the wrong part. Here's a picture of the old and new parts side by side:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/dg44eifkp...%2016.25.53.jpg
The old part is the one on the left.

I just ordered this part: http://grangeramp.com/shop/index.ph...products_id=420
Does that look right to you?

R45VT 11-07-2012 06:13 PM

At least that jack is PCB mount. More correct than the last one. :)

food1010 11-07-2012 07:53 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by R45VT
At least that jack is PCB mount. More correct than the last one. :)
Haha, well I guess I'll just have to wait until it arrives.

Robbgnarly 11-07-2012 08:36 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by KrymsinViking
Have you checked that its not the cord? Iv had that exact problem when my cables have gotten worn out. Make sure it happens with multiple cables before you go messing with your jack.

+1
Use a diff cable and see if it still has the issue.

food1010 11-18-2012 01:47 PM

The second part I ordered isn't right either. I wired it in and there was no output. :confused:

R45VT 11-18-2012 05:30 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by food1010
The second part I ordered isn't right either. I wired it in and there was no output. :confused:


Is the picture of the original still working?? It's not loading for me.

food1010 11-22-2012 07:33 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by R45VT
Is the picture of the original still working?? It's not loading for me.
It still works for me. :shrug:

Let me try posting it again. https://www.dropbox.com/s/ogealy8pq...%2016.23.28.jpg


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:04 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.