UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com

UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/index.php)
-   Musician Talk (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   Blues guitar (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1571441)

Flevi 11-04-2012 07:04 PM

Blues guitar

Hello again I'm wondering where I shoul begin my study of blues guitar, should I learn how to play blues songs? Should I learn certain chord groups or scales? If so please name whatever artists songs chords or scales I should learn. I'm new to guitar I only know the E blues scale and a few blues licks. I want to know everything about the blues Any advice would be great!

yoyoloto 11-04-2012 07:17 PM

B.B king obviously, some clapton, hendrix etc... Classick rock bands usually have some bluesy songs so start from there. For soloing, why don't you learn the Blues scale itself to begin with ? Then learn how to play it all over the fretboard, to that you can add the minor pentatonic and major pentatonic scales which are used a lot.

Of course, you're gonna have to learn some other things when you get better, 'cause scales are really just a dumby's guide to music.

ryan19 11-04-2012 08:13 PM

check out some of Joe Bonamassa's music. Great modern blues guitarist.

ihartfood 11-04-2012 08:32 PM

learn the major and minor pentatonic shapes
learn the twelve bar blues form
listen to SRV, clapton freddie king and albert king
use UG tabs

it'll come naturally.

Bikewer 11-05-2012 11:51 AM

I usually recommend immersing yourself in the roots of the form. Listen to the old Delta bluesmen; Son House and Skip James and Robert Johnson and all those guys. They're the originators; at least, the first ones recorded.
Then move on up to the Memphis and Chicago artists who started recording in studios with bands.
Muddy Waters being the prime mover there, but there are many others.
These are the guys that Clapton and all those other lads were listening to originally.