UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com

UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/index.php)
-   Electric Guitar (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=26)
-   -   Will this bridge fit on my guitar? (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1571849)

Iplayaguitar15 11-07-2012 02:50 PM

Will this bridge fit on my guitar?
 
I have a lower end jackson i dont know the exact model. I made an ID thred on here and nobody knew but right now it has a vintage type trem of that helps. i want to get this http://www.musiciansfriend.com/acce...363039000001000 Would it work? and how do i install it? do i still need springs?



Pics in lower post

jeleopard 11-07-2012 02:57 PM

No, it will not work.

C0FF1NF33D3R 11-07-2012 02:57 PM

It's impossible to say without a photo, model #, or a link for your guitar. Obviously.

Iplayaguitar15 11-07-2012 02:58 PM

alright ill try to post a pic

Iplayaguitar15 11-07-2012 03:52 PM

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7280/...8f683044b_c.jpg
http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7114/...78c9e153d_c.jpg

Sorry for the ipod pics its all i got

jinsu2301 11-07-2012 04:16 PM

if both bridge plates have those big 3 screws at the exact same position, then it might work. just replace the plate with the saddles with the new bridge. yes, you still need springs if you haven't locked your tremolo yet.

Iplayaguitar15 11-07-2012 04:24 PM

how do i know if their at the same position? and would it be an improvement? Also is the new one going to need screw near the bridge pickup like my trem now has?

Culler Amps 11-07-2012 04:35 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by jinsu2301
if both bridge plates have those big 3 screws at the exact same position, then it might work. just replace the plate with the saddles with the new bridge. yes, you still need springs if you haven't locked your tremolo yet.

What are you smoking? He wants to put a HARDTAIL bridge on a trem equipped guitar. There isn't even a place to attach springs on the hipshot.......



T.S. - You pretty much have 2 options here.

A. Buy a better quality trem, that will bolt in place of the original.

B. Block the trem

There is actually one way to turn that guitar into a true hardtail, although it will require some serious modification, and I doubt you want to go that far -


Insanity ninja 11-07-2012 04:46 PM

I really wouldn't attempt to do that, unless the bridge is terrible, I'd just stick with it.

And in relation to that video, I watched the rest... he didn't shield his cavities! :bonk:

Iplayaguitar15 11-07-2012 04:49 PM

So i could do that then install the new bridge?

Iplayaguitar15 11-07-2012 04:53 PM

Alright im going to simplify this. Can i install that hipshot bridge on my guitar without mods?

Insanity ninja 11-07-2012 04:54 PM

I'll simplify the answer.

No.

Iplayaguitar15 11-07-2012 04:55 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Insanity ninja
I'll simplify the answer.

No.

Okay thanks. Can you recommend a bridge that will that comes in black?

Insanity ninja 11-07-2012 05:01 PM

It'd be much easier to find out if you could tell us the model.
And is there anything wrong with the bridge, or do you just wanna change the colour?

Iplayaguitar15 11-07-2012 05:04 PM

I have no clue and nobody had any idea on here. i went through all of jackson catalogs from 1990 to 2012 and i found no match. And i want a trem that i could use and not go out of tune. if i cant have that ill just deal with what i got now and not use the trem

Culler Amps 11-07-2012 05:07 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iplayaguitar15
I have no clue and nobody ha any idea on here.


Plenty of people on here can probably identify the model, if you'll just post a pic of it. Make sure to get the headstock and entire body in the picture.

Huge Guy 11-07-2012 05:13 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iplayaguitar15
I have no clue and nobody had any idea on here. i went through all of jackson catalogs from 1990 to 2012 and i found no match. And i want a trem that i could use and not go out of tune. if i cant have that ill just deal with what i got now and not use the trem


Well that link you posted is for a hard tail, you know. As in "no trem bar."

I'd just stick with what you have for now and at some point upgrade to a new guitar with a Floyd Rose system.

Culler Amps 11-07-2012 05:19 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iplayaguitar15
I have no clue and nobody had any idea on here. i went through all of jackson catalogs from 1990 to 2012 and i found no match.


Just searched for your ID thread. Its a Jackson JS22R.

An accurate ruler is your friend when it come to finding a replacement trem.

Iplayaguitar15 11-07-2012 05:22 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Culler Amps
Just searched for your ID thread. Its a Jackson JS22R.

An accurate ruler is your friend when it come to finding a replacement trem.

Its not a js22r well atleast the neck isnt. the body looks the same but the neck isnt reversed and has dot inlays

Iplayaguitar15 11-07-2012 05:30 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Huge Guy
Well that link you posted is for a hard tail, you know. As in "no trem bar."

I'd just stick with what you have for now and at some point upgrade to a new guitar with a Floyd Rose system.

Id rather not have a trem bar but if i have to ill deal with it


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:17 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.