UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com

UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/index.php)
-   Recordings (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=40)
-   -   Home Recording Studio (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1572413)

avarICE_falls 11-10-2012 10:02 PM

Home Recording Studio

So I'm looking to get a home studio so I can record my, and others, various projects to refine my skills as an audio engineer. Thing is, I'm not exactly sure what is necessary. I've been looking into Cubase for the software. What are good mixing boards, mics, pre-amps, etc, that you guys would recommend? Or a more reliable software if anyone is aware of one.

axemanchris 11-10-2012 11:39 PM

Well, I've been using Cubase for over ten years and I love it. I can't really imagine using anything else.

That said, it's not inexpensive.

Before we can tell you what to look at, could you please tell us:

-what sorts of projects? Are we talking chamber ensembles, metal bands, live bluegrass hootenanies, etc?

-what is your budget?

-what do you have now?

CT

avarICE_falls 11-11-2012 04:31 PM

Fair questions.

- Mostly metal projects for now.

- My budget is up to a grand

- Right now I have nothing but a bit of an education in it.

axemanchris 11-11-2012 05:38 PM

I'd say, with your budget, don't get Cubase. It will eat up half of it. Lots of folks on here recommend Reaper, and the licence for it is only $60.

Maybe get something like this:
Interface - Tascam US-1800 ($249) - don't know much about it, but it was the cheapest 8-input interface I could find without going used. If you don't mind going used, then we can look at other options. Also, if you don't need to do live drums, we can look at other options with fewer inputs.

Monitors - Behringer Truth 2030 ($360/pr) - probably about the only below-$400 monitors I'd trust. Again, no personal experience with them, but just based on what others around here are saying.