UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com

UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/index.php)
-   Recordings (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=40)
-   -   Recommendations for a Firewire card? (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1573086)

Time Seller 11-15-2012 02:44 AM

Recommendations for a Firewire card?
 
Hey there!

I'm putting together a PC and my motherboard (ASRock Z75 Pro3) doesn't come with a Firewire slot. Also, for the price range I'm looking at ($80-120) for the mobo, apparently everything will have pretty shitty latency and I was told to look at getting a separate card for it.

Any recommendations? Is this one, for example , any good?

lockwolf 11-15-2012 03:00 AM

Firewire can be very picky. Most interfaces run better off of an interface with the Texas Instruments chipset. I can't honestly tell you if that card has it or not.

Time Seller 11-15-2012 03:14 AM

Well uhm it says:
Chipset:TI TSB43AB23
PCI 32-bit 33MHz Interface

Is that the chipset I should be looking for?

tottsk1 11-15-2012 06:26 AM

I guess "TI" stands for Texas Instruments so it should be fine.

J-Dawg158 11-15-2012 09:06 AM

Go to your interface manufacturer's website & look around for some support documentation that tells what chipsets your interface is compatible with then check the FireWire card uses one of those chip sets. I just built a new system & almost ordered a FireWire card that wasn't compatible with my interface til I checked into it.

z4twenny 11-15-2012 10:34 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by tottsk1
I guess "TI" stands for Texas Instruments so it should be fine.

+1

I have a ti siig and I think it was $40 and works great

lockwolf 11-16-2012 03:33 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by z4twenny
+1

I have a ti siig and I think it was $40 and works great


Yup, I've got 2 of them. I'd sell one to OP but if hes in Malaysia like the link he posted is, it would cost almost $20 to ship it.

oneblackened 11-17-2012 02:56 AM

Get one that's PCI Express, you'd be silly to get a PCI based card now.

axemanchris 11-17-2012 11:57 AM

^... assuming he has a PCI-e slot available. ;)

Yes, make SURE it has a Texas Instruments chipset. MANY FW interfaces are VERY picky about this.

CT

oneblackened 11-17-2012 12:30 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by axemanchris
^... assuming he has a PCI-e slot available. ;)

Yes, make SURE it has a Texas Instruments chipset. MANY FW interfaces are VERY picky about this.

CT

I'd be surprised to find a modern computer that doesn't have a x1 port and an x16 port ;)

axemanchris 11-17-2012 01:42 PM

Agreed, but the question is "available." ;)

CT


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:22 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.