UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com

UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/index.php)
-   Guitar Techniques (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   How to get rid of the tension when playing? (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1573291)

Zerath 11-16-2012 12:36 PM

How to get rid of the tension when playing?

Hi, I've been playing guitars for some 6 years now, completely selftaught, and I have a problem. When I play songs with my band that has a lot of dark power chords on the neck I get really tired in my wrist and in the palm of my hand.

How do I get rid of this tension?

Zaphod_Beeblebr 11-16-2012 12:50 PM

There may be a couple of things going on here, to really know what's going on I need to know where exactly in the palm you're getting tired quickly.

Just as a preliminary assessment though, you're probably using way too much force to fret with and you may have problems with your posture, affecting the angle of your wrist. It's also quite possible that you're using your thumb to generate too much of the power for fretting; you should be aiming to use your fingers to push against the fretboard rather than pushing your thumb in to the back of the neck.

Dempsey68 11-16-2012 12:59 PM

another thing that may come into play is wrist angle, maybe adjust the angle you hold the guitar at

Zerath 11-16-2012 01:09 PM

Don't have my electric by me atm so I'll post a pic with the acoustic.
show

Zaphod_Beeblebr 11-16-2012 01:34 PM

Your wrist angle looks alright but you definitely need to adjust your thumb, it should be pointing upwards, more parallel to the frets. Imagine you're picking something up with your thumb and middle finger, that should be the kind of position your fingers are in... only with a guitar neck in the middle :haha