UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com

UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/index.php)
-   Acoustic & Classical Guitar (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   buying an acoustic guitar (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1573739)

mr frusciante 11-19-2012 09:48 AM

buying an acoustic guitar

i have decided im going to delve into the world of acoustic guitar so im looking for some advice when it comes to buying.

i have been playing electric for 7 years but hvae NEVER owned an acoustic.

i dont have a budget in mind yet just looking for pointers on what to look out for, like on electric i would look at the woods used, scale length, electronics, bridge etc so im sure there are certain things i need to look out for on an acoustic.

any advice would be great

cheers guys.

patticake 11-19-2012 11:09 AM

without having an idea of budget, it's rough to know what to suggest. at the very least, i'd suggest a solid top - all solid back, sides and top if possible. that makes the guitar more resonant and tends to mean better tone. i prefer short scale as it's easier on the fingers and shoulder, but longer scale can mean a little more volume and tauter strings, which can be handy if you prefer tighter strings or like to drop down.

honestly, a lot of acoustic guitar is about personal preferences rather than one guitar or feature being better than another. and a lot of guitar players have more than one type of guitar out of more than one wood, sometimes with different nut widths so that they can use one guitar for one type of music or type of playing or mood, and another for another.

get to a guitar store and play a bunch of guitars, compare like mad, and you'll start to get a feel for what you do and don't like.

mr frusciante 11-19-2012 11:22 AM