UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com

UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/index.php)
-   Musician Talk (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   What is the point of learning scales? (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1574913)

Akula KO 11-26-2012 05:55 PM

What is the point of learning scales?

I've been playing guitar for nearly 2 years now. When I started I got the usual info given to beginners, one thing being "learn scales"... so for about 2 weeks I practised scales and then I quit because I didn't see the point.

From then on I just spent all my practice time on learning chords, learning how to do harmonics, string skipping, power chords, tremolo picking, alternate picking, and some other techniques. I also did some finger strengthening exercises and some finger stretching exercises.

After all this time I still don't get the point. Did I really miss some vital part of guitar training? I doubt it.

Oh yeah forgot to add. Some people say it's to strengthen yourself but you can just do exercises for that (not necessarily scales). Some have said it helps with accuracy but so does teaching yourself a song you like with melodic parts or solos.

Macabre_Turtle 11-26-2012 06:35 PM

Every other example of things that you've mentioned that you've practiced are techniques. Things that help you play. Scales are not techniques. They are knowledge. Music theory. They help you write music, not play it.

J_W 11-26-2012 06:44 PM

Scales are bad, don't play solos you might use one.

adamgur96 11-26-2012 06:50 PM

^ You are such a bad troll.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Macabre_Turtle
Every other example of things that you've mentioned that you've practiced are techniques. Things that help you play. Scales are not techniques. They are knowledge. Music theory. They help you write music, not play it.

This, and scales can help you with ear training, and learning songs faster.