UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com

UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/index.php)
-   Recordings (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=40)
-   -   Help with studio/rehersal space build (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1575954)

red.guitar 12-02-2012 04:39 PM

Help with studio/rehersal space build

I'm not sure if this is the right spot for this, if not, I'll delete it.

Anyways, me and my girlfriend just bought our first house! We will be moving in, in about 2 weeks. My first task, for after x-mas, will be to finish the basement. Right now we have a 600 sq-ft, unfinished basment.

I'm planning on putting a rec room / rehershal space / possible studio, along with the bathroom and laundary room that my GF insists we "have"... :shrug:

So like I said, its going to be a month or so before I actually start this, but, being an engineer, I like to plan in advance :haha:. I was thinking of using some sort of sound proof insulation in the walls, to keep it quite upstaris while I crank my amps! Along with this, I'm thinking I may be able to convince my GF to let me build a seperate room, say big enough for a drum kit, that I can use as a sound booth.

Does anyone here have any experience building something similar to this at home? Any suggestion for different materials / layout options for me? I'm trying to dig up the floor plan now, I'll post it when I find it.

My recording setup is quite basic right now, but eventually (say 2-3years time) I'd like to be at the point where I can record some fairly prefessional sounding material. But thats a post for another day!

My gear collecting is ever growing, so I really just want a place where I can hang all my guitars up (so they all actually get the attention they deserve!!), and if I had it sound proofed or a booth, I could just crank my amps up without the gf, or pets going apeshit! :haha:

Thanks for taking the time to read my post! :)