UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com

UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/index.php)
-   Recordings (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=40)
-   -   Backtracking Equipment? (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1576122)

irishmatt1992 12-03-2012 04:18 PM

Backtracking Equipment?
 
As it says, looking into doing live backtracking with my band. I will be using Logic through my MacBook Pro and only my drummer needs to hear the backtracks and the click track. I am guessing I need some type of interface that has two channels? One with the backtracks/click for my drummer and the other with the backtracks only for the audience to hear? If so, any recommendations? How would I set this up to work in Logic? Thanks!

eddiehimself 12-03-2012 04:42 PM

I assume you mean backing track? What you need is an audio interface. That way, you can set up the metronome track and backing track to the mixing desk and let them sort out where it's going to go.

LazyLatinoRocke 12-03-2012 05:44 PM

I use Logic very much. It should automatically read the audio interface. Usually 2 channels interface come with ONE output to listen from. If all you have is an audio interface with one output, what you could do is buy a cheap headphone amp which can allow a few more people to listen to the same thing.

My main concern is how you're going to record drums through two channels.

PS: I think this should be in the recording section.

irishmatt1992 12-03-2012 11:05 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by LazyLatinoRocke
I use Logic very much. It should automatically read the audio interface. Usually 2 channels interface come with ONE output to listen from. If all you have is an audio interface with one output, what you could do is buy a cheap headphone amp which can allow a few more people to listen to the same thing.

My main concern is how you're going to record drums through two channels.

PS:I think this should be in the recording section.

Um I am not recording anything, this is for live performances

irishmatt1992 12-03-2012 11:06 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by eddiehimself
I assume you mean backing track? What you need is an audio interface. That way, you can set up the metronome track and backing track to the mixing desk and let them sort out where it's going to go.


recommendation for an audio interface?

travs2448 12-04-2012 12:14 AM

we do the same thing in my band with all the same equipment, except we dont use an interface. basically from what i understand my drummer bounces down a stereo mix of all our songs back tracks. one side has back tracks mixed with a click track, the other just the back tracks. we just output from the laptop via a di box and a spliter. from there one side goes to his ear phones and the other side goes to the pa. hope that helps

lockwolf 12-04-2012 09:28 AM

The Focusrite Scarlett 2i4 is actually pretty much exactly what you're looking for. It has 4 outputs so you can run your backing tracks out in Stereo to your audience (to give them a nice full sound) & run the other 2 outputs on them to your drummer.

As far as how to set that up in Logic, setup your backing tracks on one track & have it bus out inputs 1-2 & 3-4 with separate volume faders (so the drummer can control his mix of it) and have the click track on another fader set to go through output 3-4 only so only the drummer hears it.

irishmatt1992 12-07-2012 03:40 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by lockwolf
The Focusrite Scarlett 2i4 is actually pretty much exactly what you're looking for. It has 4 outputs so you can run your backing tracks out in Stereo to your audience (to give them a nice full sound) & run the other 2 outputs on them to your drummer.

As far as how to set that up in Logic, setup your backing tracks on one track & have it bus out inputs 1-2 & 3-4 with separate volume faders (so the drummer can control his mix of it) and have the click track on another fader set to go through output 3-4 only so only the drummer hears it.



This guy?

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/pro-...audio-interface


So you would run the computer through USB to the interface. Headphones for my drummer through line outputs 1 and 2. House gets 3 and 4. Correct?

lockwolf 12-07-2012 11:07 PM

Thats exactly how you'd do it.

irishmatt1992 12-08-2012 04:04 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by lockwolf
Thats exactly how you'd do it.



Thank you sir!

irishmatt1992 12-08-2012 04:18 PM

Ended up getting this, should work the same, correct?


http://www.guitarcenter.com/Focusri...526-i1476612.gc

lockwolf 12-09-2012 02:09 AM

Yeah, the Saffire 6 is just the older Scarlett 2i4

irishmatt1992 12-09-2012 04:20 AM

Haha it was cheaper so I though I'd go with it


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:32 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.