UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com

UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/index.php)
-   Guitar Techniques (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   How to make lead and rhythm guitar parts that go together? (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1576153)

doyouevenlift 12-03-2012 06:48 PM

How to make lead and rhythm guitar parts that go together?

Hey guys guitar beginner here, and im wondering, how do guitarists make guitar parts? Do they just put random things that they know and hope the parts sounds good together? Or is there a specific way to do it? Sorry if this is a stupid question

CryogenicHusk 12-03-2012 06:56 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by doyouevenlift
Hey guys guitar beginner here, and im wondering, how do guitarists make guitar parts? Do they just put random things that they know and hope the parts sounds good together? Or is there a specific way to do it? Sorry if this is a stupid question

I wouldn't say there's anything random to it. Many usually do whatever sounds good, which works out to the rhythm providing a background (or harmony) to the lead (or melody). If it doesn't sound like crap, that is most likely why, whether they knew exactly what they were doing or came up with it and kept it just cause it sounded good.

I'm a newb too, but if you read up a bit on harmony and melody and keys, that should be a good place to start. Hopefully somebody more knowledgeable will add more.

Geldin 12-03-2012 07:25 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by doyouevenlift

I write by listening. I listen to the melody in my head and teach myself to play it. Then I listen to the recording and figure out how to notate it (or I skip playing it entirely and just hop to notating it). Then I listen to that part, hum along, and keep going when the section playing back ends to try to figure out the melodic direction for the piece.

doyouevenlift 12-03-2012 09:59 PM