UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com

UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/index.php)
-   Recordings (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=40)
-   -   Focusrite Scarlett 2i4 (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1576297)

crazysam23_Atax 12-04-2012 04:54 PM

Focusrite Scarlett 2i4
 
So, it's $200 on MusiciansFriend for this baby. Anyone know where I can get it for less than $150?

Also, I'm assuming that these (circle below) are indeed instrument inputs? Meaning I won't need an adapter to plug into this thing?



I'd like to get one of these babies to record vocals, guitar, and bass long-term. I have a Guitar Link, which works ok for recording rough demos. I've a feeling it'll sound a LOT better with one of these babies though...

MatrixClaw 12-04-2012 05:08 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazysam23_Atax
So, it's $200 on MusiciansFriend for this baby. Anyone know where I can get it for less than $150?

Also, I'm assuming that these (circle below) are indeed instrument inputs?



I'd like to get one of these babies to record vocals, guitar, and bass long-term. I have a Guitar Link, which works ok for recording rough demos. I've a feeling it'll sound a LOT better with one of these babies though...

No, those are balanced 1/4" outputs, for your monitors.

There are two instrument inputs on the front (the XLR jacks are combo XLR and 1/4" jacks).

crazysam23_Atax 12-04-2012 05:47 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by MatrixClaw
No, those are balanced 1/4" outputs, for your monitors.

There are two instrument inputs on the front (the XLR jacks are combo XLR and 1/4" jacks).

Ah, ok...that makes sense.

Danjo's Guitar 12-04-2012 07:06 PM

You aren't planning on running your amp into it or anything right? That won't work. The instrument inputs are for an electric guitar straight it, an acoustic guitar in, or like a keyboard or something. Otherwise you'll have to mic it.

crazysam23_Atax 12-04-2012 07:36 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danjo's Guitar
You aren't planning on running your amp into it or anything right? That won't work. The instrument inputs are for an electric guitar straight it, an acoustic guitar in, or like a keyboard or something. Otherwise you'll have to mic it.

No, no, no, no... :haha:

I'll be connecting my electric guitar and my bass guitar to the Scarlett (and then from there to my PC's USB port), and then running several VSTs in Reaper. I'll probably mic my acoustic guitar. I may, at some point, use it to record my keyboard as well. For right now, I'm recording with Guitar Link (not the best, but it was $10).


Anyway, I may just buy this baby:

Found it on eBay for $130 (plus free standard shipping), which is like $80 less than it's listed new.

lockwolf 12-04-2012 09:41 PM

Go for it, the Saffire 6's are just the old Scarlett 2i4's and they're still supported. Hell, they already have drivers for Windows 8 so I'd think that baby's gonna be around a while.

crazysam23_Atax 12-04-2012 10:02 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by lockwolf
Go for it, the Saffire 6's are just the old Scarlett 2i4's and they're still supported. Hell, they already have drivers for Windows 8 so I'd think that baby's gonna be around a while.

Well, I just didn't want to pay for a new one, but really I figured out that basically all Scarlett 2i6's I was finding were new. Used but in good condition suits me just fine. :shrug:

ChemicalFire 12-05-2012 09:50 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danjo's Guitar
You aren't planning on running your amp into it or anything right? That won't work. The instrument inputs are for an electric guitar straight it, an acoustic guitar in, or like a keyboard or something. Otherwise you'll have to mic it.


This is BS just as a heads up.

I've run a dummy load out of my speaker expansion on my Blackstar and DI'd it directly into my interface. I obviously ran some IR's in post.

Works fine, you just gotta make sure you keep voltages working right.

crazysam23_Atax 12-05-2012 10:37 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChemicalFire
This is BS just as a heads up.

I've run a dummy load out of my speaker expansion on my Blackstar and DI'd it directly into my interface. I obviously ran some IR's in post.

Works fine, you just gotta make sure you keep voltages working right.

I figured it would. Only thing is, my amp's line-in is terrible. :shrug:

I pretty much figured out how to get a better sound of out VSTs than my crappy practice amp anyway.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:47 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.