UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com

UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/index.php)
-   Bass Guitar (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Strings (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1576424)

Obsolete80 12-05-2012 09:20 AM

Strings

I'm new to bass and have a couple of string related questions...

What bass strings (4 string) can anyone recommend?
Also what gauge would be suitable? - the bass I have still has the manufacturers strings on and have no idea what they are!

Ziphoblat 12-05-2012 09:37 AM

Standard gauge is usually 45-105. I'd recommend Rotosound personally, especially as you're in the UK (they're easily as good as the more expensive strings but cheaper as they're not imported). I've tried most of the common string brands out there and ended up settling for Rotosound, for both the price (I replace my strings at least once a month), the sound, and the way they feel against the hands. Really the only way to know which brand works for you is to try a different one out every time you swap strings until you start to develop preferences. But Rotosound are definitely worth a go.

Spaz91 12-05-2012 10:09 AM

Medium gauge tends to be 100/105 to 40/45/50 depending on the brand and type of string. Personally I prefer heavy gauge strings as they feel nicer, need less tweaking, hold tune longer and have a much nicer low end. Others prefer lighter gauge as they have less tension and are brighter so they're good for slap and tapping, etc.

Elites, Warwick (Red Label) and Rotosound (Rotobass) are best in the UK for not breaking the bank. There are other cheap brands but I don't really trust them.

Do not go to Dawsons or Forsyth's! I can't stress this enough. Go to Strings Direct or Stringbusters.

Unless the manufacturer states which strings they use then I can guarantee they are wank.