UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com

UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/index.php)
-   Musician Talk (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   Which tuning should I use. (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1576425)

stevenpelham21 12-05-2012 09:28 AM

Which tuning should I use.

Okay I've been writing music for awhile, about 5 years and I have written in many different tunings, now I'm wanting to choose my finale tuning but I can't decide.
So can someone please tell me their opinion. Which tuning sounds darker and heavier for black/death/gothic metal. My band project which is me and my friend are a mix between thrash, death, black and gothic metal, he likes 2 steps down, I like 1 step down and dropped D.

Please no offensive comments. I just want serious answers and opinions
Thank you :devil:

Enigmatic564 12-05-2012 10:26 PM

I fell in love with drop D standard and drop C for darker stuff

GazzaCee 12-06-2012 03:30 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Enigmatic564
I fell in love with drop D standard and drop C for darker stuff

Umm... what?

OT: I like Drop C#. It works for pretty much everything.

AngryGoldfish 12-06-2012 05:04 PM

I assume he means Drop D.

*moved to MT*

amonamarthmetal 12-06-2012 05:36 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by GazzaCee
Umm... what?

OT: I like Drop C#. It works for pretty much everything.

I like drop Db.

mattrusso 12-06-2012 07:03 PM

A tuning is only a vehicle for what you play in it...remember man, play the tuning, don't let the tuning play you!

food1010 12-06-2012 11:08 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattrusso
A tuning is only a vehicle for what you play in it...remember man, play the tuning, don't let the tuning play you!