UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com

UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/index.php)
-   Guitar Gear & Accessories (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=33)
-   -   Marshall Cabinet. (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1576768)

emilxert 12-07-2012 07:04 AM

Marshall Cabinet.

Hey. I'm totally new to guitar amplification tools. What I've used so far were headphones or pc speakers and Amplitube for an iPad. I'm not eager to get the best sound possible, but I'd like someone to give their opinion on two things:
1. http://www.richtonemusic.co.uk/prod...mg1 00hcfx.asp

This Marshall cabinet.

2. Would 120 Watts be too much for just a regular apartment room?

I'm not looking for an amplifier, as I'd just like to stay with digital software.
In case this cabinet is crap or 120 Watts aren't appropriate for such small space, I'm all ears if you have other cabinet alternatives to recommend.

Thanks.

Telecaster7 12-07-2012 07:09 AM

The MG series is usually seen to be crap, but I haven't tried the cabs so no comment. Also someone more wise might correct me but the volume of the cab will depend more on the signal going into it, not its individual wattage.

MaggaraMarine 12-07-2012 07:54 AM

I have heard that Marshall MG cabs have bad speakers so I would look at some other cabs. Of course if you can try it and like it then buy it. But I would try to look at something with Celestions or some other well known speakers inside. Or then just ask somebody that knows a lot about different speakers.