UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com

UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/index.php)
-   Musician Talk (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   When is it a time for a guitar upgrade? (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1576834)

johnyere 12-07-2012 04:57 PM

When is it a time for a guitar upgrade?

I've been playing guitar for 2 years now, and have been very serious about it for the past year. I've been playing on an Epiphone G400 SG during these 2 years and am now wondering if it's time to purchase a better guitar.

Im currently taking lessons from a great teacher and plan on continuing these lessons well into the future.

So, do you think i should keep going with what i got, which is a very solid guitar, or upgrade to something like a MIM Strat or Tele or something in that price range (if you would call that an upgrade)?

Sorry in advance if this is in the wrong section. i wasnt sure where to post it.

MaggaraMarine 12-07-2012 05:17 PM

Maybe Electric Guitar forum...

If you feel like you need a new guitar, then buy a new guitar. But if there's nothing wrong with your guitar and you don't need a new guitar, don't waste your money on something you don't need. Though it's always good to have two guitars for different tunings/sounds or just for backup if you play gigs. Start/Tele will sound different than your SG. They have single coil pickups that aren't really good for anything heavier than hard rock. But of course go and try them and see if they sound/feel good.

You don't need to sell the SG. You can have it as a backup guitar or a guitar for different tunings and sounds or just a different feel.

mattrusso 12-07-2012 05:20 PM