UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com

UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/index.php)
-   Recordings (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=40)
-   -   EzDrummer latency (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1577452)

Usernames sucks 12-11-2012 05:48 PM

EzDrummer latency
 
Hi. I have noticed latency in ez drummer when i hit a key on my midi keyboard connected to ezdrummer in my daw (about 0,5 seconds). Some projects there are no latency at all and some have about a hald second, it depends if i have alot of audio items and tracks for some reason. Same latency happens if i mouse-click the drums. It is no latency with other big vsts in the same project like omnisphere. Is it normal? I want to buy an electronic drumkit and play, but it seems impossible in my situation. My interface is a Pod Ux1, and i have never had any latency problems with it with recording (i have some latency when monitoring tracks whith fx). When i check my cpu use for the project, it is very low. Does the same problem happen in superior drummer?

EDIT: I could probably mute the ezdrummer track, and record midi via the electronic kit, while using the built in drumbrain to monitor, but this would lead to some issues:
1. When recording, how do you get the sounds from both the monitored sounds from the drumset and the metronome/other instruments in the same headphones? Can you connect an aux cable from the audio interface to the aux in on the electronic kit, and hear everything frim the headphones connected to the electronic set?
2. How could you use ezdrummer live whith a e-drumset?
3. How do you record with a midi device that dosnt have built in audio?

Thanks alot if anyone would answer my questions!

T4D 12-12-2012 12:15 AM

the check the driver your using,. and it's settings
the only one i use is the ASIO ( i have a list Direct X etc etc but ASIO is recommended by everyone and all testing by far is the best on my computers )

this was reinforce when i did connected my Edrums to Ezdrummer YES I got HUGE delay from hitting drum to EZdrummer the sound ,. after some playing i found Ezdrummer standalone was using the wrong driver ,. once ASIO was in, ALL prefect

Usernames sucks 12-12-2012 01:41 AM

Well, im using the asio ux1 driver for my soundcard.

T4D 12-12-2012 02:48 AM

what are the buffer settings ? bring them as low as you can without the sound breaking up.

T4D 12-12-2012 02:52 AM

what's DAW software are you using ?

if some big projects have not issues and then you have issues in new projects I think this is more DAW issue not EZdrummer Mainly because the DAW normally take over control of the audio card and EZdrummer run inside that control.

to confirm how does standalone Ezdrummer work for you ?

Usernames sucks 12-12-2012 10:15 AM

Im using reaper, and i have set my buffer to be the best possible. I think you misunderstood me. I have issues with big projects, and not small.

T4D 12-12-2012 11:34 AM

well then i would have to guess it's more a Reaper issue and or a resource issue
what cpu , ram do you have ?

Maybe best to check the reaper forums on how much you can run in a single reaper project on your hardware .. I personally do not think it's a Ezdrummer issue, BUT when i say that Ezdrummer is Not the most efficient maybe it's pushing you over your hardware limits..

Usernames sucks 12-12-2012 12:23 PM

I tried to open ti in toontrack solo, and open it in reaper, using the asio of my pod hd500 guitar pedalboard (it can act as a soundcard), and it was still the same latency. But i dont think its an issue with reaper, since the same latency happens in toontrack solo, and its not related to reaper.

AJScott 12-12-2012 06:16 PM

I had this exact question, what is your DAW? You need to set the driver settings to ASIO, I had this issue. I'd have my Focusrite interface connected and my MIDI Pad controlling Superior Drummer but there was a noticeable delay, when I switch to the ASIO setting this practically vanished.

Usernames sucks 12-12-2012 06:27 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by AJScott
I had this exact question, what is your DAW? You need to set the driver settings to ASIO, I had this issue. I'd have my Focusrite interface connected and my MIDI Pad controlling Superior Drummer but there was a noticeable delay, when I switch to the ASIO setting this practically vanished.

I use reaper (extremely stable) and asio driver for my soundcard (pod ux1)

T4D 12-13-2012 01:55 AM

OK if you totally sure it is NOT a Reaper issue ,..I think it's a ASIO driver issue, I say this because afew months back i connected my edrums to SD in Protools all worked fine ,. then I added another kit,. & not being sure how to connect 2 kits,. I thought I will set up first in Standalone version ,... HUGE delay in standalone,. I'm totally confused ??

done all sorts of testings but then I when i went back into protool and set up both kits there it worked prefect ?,. NOW I had to get standalone work !!! then I check my driver setting in Standalone and BAM the ASIO driver was not set up it auto choose the DirectX driver for some reason ? chenged it and it all worked prefect..


OK checking the pod ux1 spec's i have to ask how are you getting midi into your computer it has no Midi port ?? what hardware driver is involved there ?? ( maybe the issue is that ? )


also is there a project/setup in reaper that ezdrummer does work perfectly ?
maybe start with a good ezdrummer setup and find the problem as you add things.. ?

Usernames sucks 12-13-2012 04:18 AM

I use midi via usb. I have 2 midi keybards.

diabolical 12-13-2012 04:25 AM

I think your best bet is submixing your project, freezing multitrack files and doing drums over smaller track/fx count.

Usernames sucks 12-13-2012 04:52 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by diabolical
I think your best bet is submixing your project, freezing multitrack files and doing drums over smaller track/fx count.

Well, dosnt it work to mute the ezdrummer track connect usb from e-drumkit to record midi to that track, connect a aux from interface headphones to aux in on the e-kit (so you can hear the other instruments in the project, and record midi, while using the built in sounds from the kit to monitor? Does it work to record midi from a e- kit when playing and hear the normal sounds?


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:30 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.