UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com

UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/index.php)
-   Guitar Techniques (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   Crippling pain when playing barre chords (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1577685)

Skruzz 12-12-2012 09:11 PM

Crippling pain when playing barre chords

So, just so you know a bit about me as a guitarist:
I've been playing for about 6 years now. Self-taught, have studied some online lessons(theory), but primarily self-taught.
I started out doing mainly picking, soloing, lead-style techniques, with some rhythm and chords thrown in, but in the past 2 and a half years or so, I've switched over to primarily strumming, with some classical guitar(involved in a nail gun accident with my fretting hand - couldn't play for 6 months, still find it difficult to play simultaneously quickly and accurately - classical is about as close as I come to picking).
My technique is about as close to flawless as you're going to get without playing for 45 years. My progressions are smooth, and I can play for hours straight without any fatigue or cramping - provided I'm not playing many barre chords.

Now, here's the issue:
When playing a song that makes liberal use of barre chords, or pretty much any use of B major at all, I very quickly develop severe pain along my thumb and into where my thumb meets my forefinger, down into my wrist, and then down the forearm to the elbow(in this order. Stages begin about 15 seconds apart from each other). This has been happening since I started playing barre chords(about 2 years ago).
At first, I chalked it up to being new to playing them, then after about 6 months had passed without change, I figured it must be a normal thing. However, I've come to find bands where most of their songs are barre chords, so clearly, this is not the case.