UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com

UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/index.php)
-   Guitar Gear & Accessories (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=33)
-   -   Voltage for a tube amplifier fuse? (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1578752)

MasonHoberg 12-19-2012 11:14 PM

Voltage for a tube amplifier fuse?
 
Is it ok to use a fuse that is rated at 6 1/4 Amp 250 Volt, if the amp is rated for a fuse that is 6 1/4 Amp 125 Volt? If not could someone please point me in the direction of a good website to purchase the correct fuse? I live about 40 miles from the nearest hardware store so I don't go into town often, so a hardware store isn't ideal. I have also searched on Radio Shack and could not find the correct kind of fuse.

Sorry is this was a stupid question, but thank you guys in advance for whatever help you can give me.

Cathbard 12-20-2012 12:42 AM

Here's how it works. The voltage rating is referring to how it will behave after the fuse blows, not before. A fuse with a low voltage rating may continue to conduct after it blows due to residue if it's across a high voltage. It is only really a concern if using a low voltage fuse like 30V in a high voltage device like 230V (higher really).
A fuse cannot be rated too high in regards to voltage for an application and the difference between 120 and 230 isn't enough to really be a concern anyway. Using a 250V on a 120V system is actually better than using a 120V fuse. The only reason we don't use 1000V fuses in everything is that they cost too much, otherwise nobody would ever use smaller voltage ones.

tl/dr: a 250V fuse will work just fine.

MasonHoberg 12-20-2012 11:46 PM

Thank you very much. I appreciate the help.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:06 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.