UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com

UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/index.php)
-   Musician Talk (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   Tonal Center (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1579994)

satchfan9 12-28-2012 09:53 AM

Tonal Center

Hey I'm new to this and I think this is the right forum.

How do I figure what is a Tonal Center? I think I have figured some:
Crazy Train-F#m shifting to A
Stranglehold-A(Mixolydian if you want that, but I leave it in A)
Mr. Jones-Am shifting to C
Electric Gypsy-Db
God Is Crying-G

Yes?
But I have this progression:
e:12--9--7-9
B:10-12-7-9
G:11-9--6-9
D:9--11-7-7
A:
E:
I don't know it, so I suppose that I don't know how to figure it out.

MaggaraMarine 12-28-2012 01:43 PM

The chords are B7sus4 C#m7 A69 Amaj7. It could be C#m but I'm not sure about it if I don't hear the song.

satchfan9 12-28-2012 02:34 PM

It's not a song or anything just a progression I made but to think of a rhytmn would be:
Quarter, half, quarter silence, quarter half, quarter silence at some 140bpm

AeolianWolf 12-28-2012 02:51 PM

sounds very A major to me.

satchfan9 12-28-2012 03:00 PM

So it's either C# or A, how do you do this?

AeolianWolf 12-28-2012 03:21 PM

you use your ear?

figure it out the same way you figured out the other ones. obviously you have some idea what you're doing because you were able to figure out the keys of other songs.

satchfan9 12-28-2012 03:59 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by AeolianWolf
you use your ear?

figure it out the same way you figured out the other ones. obviously you have some idea what you're doing because you were able to figure out the keys of other songs.