UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com

UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/index.php)
-   Songwriting & Lyrics Techniques (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=69)
-   -   How to make verse and chorus flow (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1581072)

bkerch 01-03-2013 10:32 PM

How to make verse and chorus flow

I am new to songwriting and this may be a stupid question. But I seem to have a hard to transitioning from verses to a chorus. I find a chord progression i like for the verse and chorus but just dont sound right together. I will also write a good intro and try to transition to the first verse but i feel there is no real transition. Are there any tips anyone could give me on how to make everything flow. Maybe as far as the chords i should choose or lyrics.

GMx 01-04-2013 12:02 AM

Maybe you're approaching your writing in a way that's too complex. I'd recommend you to try and keep it simple. Knowing a song's structure is something basic, but with practice, you might get to a point where you can make a song almost out of anything.

If you find that your chord progressions don't match, it might be that you're going out of the song's key. Try building it up in a different way, try playing a bit with the vocals so the melody matchs your progressions and then you'll have something good to work with.

It's also important to know the purpose of your song. What are trying to say? How do you wanna say it? What's the general theme, or rather, the main idea of the song? That last point is what I keep in mind to writte a good chorus, and I treat the verses as pieces of the message (or the story, if you like) I'm trying to send.

If you don't feel your sound is flowing out nicely, maybe you should reconsider all of it (what are you trying to say and how), adn try to approach it a different way. It's not just a matter of respecting a structure, really, it's about how you feel about it.