UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com

UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/index.php)
-   Recordings (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=40)
-   -   Beginner/Basic Recording Equipment (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1581095)

jhalterman 01-04-2013 01:53 AM

Beginner/Basic Recording Equipment

I am completely new to the recording world and luckily UG has that sticky which helped out a good amount. There are still things I'm uncertain about (like what "VSTs" and "plug-ins" are), but those I can simply Google.

I do require some help, though. I'm looking for free to inexpensive recording equipment to get my toes in the water, but I don't even know what's considered "bare bones" in the recording world. From what I've learned you can have a DAW, an audio interface, a drum track program, mastering software, a mic, and a software for adding effects. Not sure what else a home recording studio would need, but there are probably things I've missed.

But, like I said, I'm going bare minimum to start. I know you need a DAW like Reaper (seeing as it's been mentioned so much) or something similar found here. I've not yet done research on those programs yet, though. And then there's a drum tracks program to consider. Your opinion: yay or nay? I can probably find a free, simplified version to start off with, but not something as low-end as Tux Guitar, which I've used before.