UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com

UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/index.php)
-   Musician Talk (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   Spontaneous playing (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1581866)

SimonGrounsell 01-08-2013 03:58 PM

Spontaneous playing

I've been wondering a few things recently, I started playing guitar a little while ago, 10-12 weeks I'm not really sure. Basically my father was ill so while staying home from school and caring for him with mum ( I'm only 15 ) I didn't have much to do so I decided to pick up a half decent guitar and amp so I could learn/play for Dad. That's why I got into all this,and dads passed away recently so I have a lot of time to kill and to be honest playing guitars helping a lot at the moment

While playing for dad I quickly found that I had problems playing existing songs and chord progressions but I could learn chords, and put together some of my own with different rhythms. One that I put together has stuck into a piece I play , but the majority of my chord progressions I kinda just make up on the spot and forget. Some stick for a few days but that's all really. Is this normal and something to not worry about? Or should I be writing them down all the time?

Also because I'm playing on an electric guitar mainly for chords or picking I often come up with pieces I like but don't write them down because there only 20, 30 seconds long. Do most people just come up with something then let it float around in your head until it develops more?

I hope Im making sense and thank you in advance , Simon

MaggaraMarine 01-08-2013 04:28 PM

Yes, it's normal that when you have just started playing, you can't instantly play all the songs. It takes time.

And yes, write down everything you come up with if it sounds good. I have many short ideas that just need to be finished. If you come up with many short parts, you might try if they fit together.