UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com

UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/index.php)
-   The Pit (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   Fallout 2 won't run and Steam won't respond. (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1581990)

Jack Off Jill 01-09-2013 06:16 AM

Fallout 2 won't run and Steam won't respond.
 
Alright fellas, it's been a long time since I've used Windows, so I don't know anything.

I downloaded Fallout 1 and 2 from Steam. 1 works like a charm, but when i try to run 2 I get an error message. It says Fallout 2 is running in compatibility mode. I'm using Windows 8. I tried uninstalling and reinstalling it, as well as turning it on and off in Properties. Does anyone have any ideas? Steam has yet to respond. I also can't seem to find an .exe file.

metacarpi 01-09-2013 06:18 AM

http://forums.steampowered.com/foru....php?p=33589529

For running them perfectly.

Find your Steam folder, find the Fallout 2 exe file, right click, properties, uncheck the compatibility mode.

slash_GNR666 01-09-2013 06:18 AM

http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/foru...hlight=computer

http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/foru...computer+thread

Jack Off Jill 01-09-2013 06:22 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by metacarpi
http://forums.steampowered.com/foru....php?p=33589529

For running them perfectly.

Find your Steam folder, find the Fallout 2 exe file, right click, properties, uncheck the compatibility mode.

Yeah, I did that. Didn't work. Made me want to punch my dog, but it isn't his fault.

metacarpi 01-09-2013 06:22 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Off Jill
Yeah, I did that. Didn't work. Made me want to punch my dog, but it isn't his fault.


Was Compatibility Mode not enabled, or did it just not work?

Jack Off Jill 01-09-2013 06:38 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by metacarpi
Was Compatibility Mode not enabled, or did it just not work?

It wasn't enabled. So I enabled it. When that didn't work, I disabled it. I renamed that particular file and nothing. This is why I switched to Apple. Because I have no idea what I'm doing beyond clicking links for naked ladies.



Oh hey, thanks man. Im kind of new here, I've only been posting for 6 years and never figured out the search bar.

metacarpi 01-09-2013 06:41 AM

You don't have any mods installed at all do you?

Jack Off Jill 01-09-2013 06:42 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by metacarpi
You don't have any mods installed at all do you?

Nope. Not unless steam automatically installs them.

metacarpi 01-09-2013 06:47 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Off Jill
Nope. Not unless steam automatically installs them.


Under the properties tab on the shortcut on your desktop, there should be an option for 256 colour.


Fallout2.exe->Right click->properties->256 color

Something like that anyway.

Is that option checked? Greyed out?

If you can, uncheck it - it seems to be a common cause of issues for some reason.

Jack Off Jill 01-09-2013 06:50 AM

I think you're supposed to check that and enable 8 bit. That's what's supposed to solve the problem. But I think that's for some weird rainbow thing that will happen in the game. But yeah, I did that too.

Oh well. I guess I'll just wait for Steam to respond.

metacarpi 01-09-2013 06:52 AM

I'd just hang on for Steam pal - my google-fu is failing me.

Jack Off Jill 01-09-2013 06:53 AM

So. What are you wearing?

slash_GNR666 01-09-2013 06:54 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Off Jill
Oh hey, thanks man. Im kind of new here, I've only been posting for 6 years and never figured out the search bar.




Then you should know better

Jack Off Jill 01-09-2013 06:58 AM

I'm an impatient man.

catempire 01-09-2013 07:43 AM

Get it for mac?

Jack Off Jill 01-09-2013 07:53 AM

I broke my macs. :(

metacarpi 01-09-2013 07:59 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Off Jill
I broke my macs. :(


Ouch, right in the wallet!

JackalUK 01-09-2013 08:10 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Off Jill
I broke my macs. :(


But Apple products never break..... :haha:

Jack Off Jill 01-09-2013 08:30 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by JackalUK
But Apple products never break..... :haha:

No one can stop my destructive capabilities. Just last week I broke two nail guns.

EpiExplorer 01-09-2013 01:00 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by JackalUK
But Apple products never break..... :haha:



Lies from the pits of.. the pit.


This problem happened to me when I wanted to play dungeon keeper 2 on Win7. DK2 is quite an old game, and it didn't like being shoved onto a much faster OS and system. Have you tried seperate launch options in steam? They've solved a lot of startup issues for me. Its a bit brute force-ish, but it has worked:

https://support.steampowered.com/kb...=1040-JWMT-2947


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:36 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.