UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com

UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com (
-   Electric Guitar (
-   -   Shopping... (

dannyalcatraz 01-10-2013 05:28 AM

I'm in an unusual position.

As of Monday, I'll be sending a check as downpayment on a limited edition guitar from a small company in another state and- oddly- it does not come with a case.

This will be the first time in a decade that I've bought a guitar without a case. The first was a Dean EVO, but the retailer had an Epiphine case that fit perfectly. In fact, he had picked it out before I had even arrived to pick up the guitar.

No chance of that happening this time.

So now I have to do something I've never done before- shop for a freakin' guitar case.

Those who have done so: do you bring the guitar along for the ride or do you just use measurements? Is buying one online practical?

Note: All of my guitars have hard cases- I don't trust gig bags- and most of my guitars are either in Gators or have cases that were designed for them, so fit is perfect.

dannyalcatraz 01-10-2013 06:10 AM

*Spammer BS*

Somehow, I don't think North Face Jackets will help me, discounted or not, real or fake...

Dave_Mc 01-10-2013 07:12 AM

^ i'd be worried that my new guitar might get cold while trying to climb a mountain :o

can't help about the case thing, i've never bought a separate case (well aside from a cheapo gig bag) either.

charlie__flynn 01-10-2013 08:04 AM

I've only ever bought a hard case for an acoustic and seeing as theyre all similiar shape/ size I could just buy a standard case without bringing the guitar with me and it was fine.

A quick look online came up with this:
although you may want to do some looking around as that is quite expensive.

Robbgnarly 01-10-2013 09:22 AM

What guitar is it?
Does that company offer a case you can buy seprate?
Is it an odd/extreme shape?
is it a Strat/tele,LP/SG or other type?