UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com

UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/index.php)
-   Recordings (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=40)
-   -   How many mics can i really plug into this? (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1582230)

Androidjoey 01-10-2013 08:15 PM

How many mics can i really plug into this?
 
http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/US1800/

It says it has 16 simultaneous inputs so can i plug in 16 mics?

xkovacsx09 01-10-2013 08:20 PM

from the looks of it, only 8.

Androidjoey 01-10-2013 08:26 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by xkovacsx09
from the looks of it, only 8.

Do you think it would be possible to daisy chain 2 of them?

lockwolf 01-11-2013 01:03 AM

No and don't waste your money on one of those. They're terrible

Androidjoey 01-11-2013 02:14 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by lockwolf
No and don't waste your money on one of those. They're terrible

Well then what would you recommend?

T4D 01-11-2013 02:43 AM

well 8 with mic preamps/phantom power you could have 2 more if you go direct you could use a sm57 in those 9 and 10 inputs..

Androidjoey why do you need 10 inputs or more ? 8 easily does a drum mic up ?


Lockwolf what is wrong with this interface ?

I have a M-audio delta 10/10 having more inputs let's you bring out board effects into the mix, it's is a nice option.

chatterbox272 01-11-2013 03:43 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by T4D
well 8 with mic preamps/phantom power you could have 2 more if you go direct you could use a sm57 in those 9 and 10 inputs

What? dynamic mics still need mic preamps to sound any good, just not phantom power. so without external mic preamps you can only use 8 mics into that interface (why you would need any more is beyond me).

If there's something majorly wrong with that interface lockwolf then we might need to get ChemicalFire to remove it from the interfaces sticky.

T4D 01-11-2013 03:47 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by chatterbox272
What? dynamic mics still need mic preamps to sound any good, just not phantom power. so without external mic preamps you can only use 8 mics into that interface (why you would need any more is beyond me)..


well i did say "could" :D

agree not the best way to get more in but it's a option ;)

Androidjoey 01-11-2013 03:48 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by T4D
well 8 with mic preamps/phantom power you could have 2 more if you go direct you could use a sm57 in those 9 and 10 inputs..

Androidjoey why do you need 10 inputs or more ? 8 easily does a drum mic up ?


Lockwolf what is wrong with this interface ?

I have a M-audio delta 10/10 having more inputs let's you bring out board effects into the mix, it's is a nice option.

My drummer says he needs at least 10 to mic his set and I need one to mic my amp and one to do vocals. If i get separate preamps can I use the other inputs for my sm57s?

chatterbox272 01-11-2013 04:42 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Androidjoey
My drummer says he needs at least 10 to mic his set and I need one to mic my amp and one to do vocals. If i get separate preamps can I use the other inputs for my sm57s?

Unless his kit takes up a whole room or something he doesn't need 10 mics. Kick mic, Snare Mic, and Overhead will do the job adequately, after that you're adding them to improve the clarity of the individual parts, or a room mic to give it a little more 'feel'. And why are you recording guitar, vocals, and drums at the same time if you're recording digitally? All you'll do is increase the bleed between mics. Honestly I would recommend a 4 channel interface of some description, mic the kit in one take, the guitar in another, and the vocals in a 3rd if possible. Otherwise at least drum in one take, and guitar + vocals in another. Also you'll save money on that because you can double on mics (e.g. SM57 can work as both a snare and guitar mic).

lockwolf 01-11-2013 04:56 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by T4D
Lockwolf what is wrong with this.


Subpar preamps, bad AD conversion, terrible drivers that don't work. I mean if you wanna waste money on a product that doesn't work well, it's great at that

T4D 01-11-2013 05:18 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Androidjoey
My drummer says he needs at least 10 to mic his set and I need one to mic my amp and one to do vocals. If i get separate preamps can I use the other inputs for my sm57s?


yeah you could use one of These or this I've got both and work well before I go to my m-audio delta 1010


but you could avoid buying those and just give all the 8 main inputs to the drummer ( agree chatterbox272 8 mic's for drums is alittle over the top ) But if you want it, DO IT :headbang:

and just use the sub pair inputs on the sm57's to layout down the tracks for guitars and vocal to get the feel and timing layed down.

then once you have your drum tracks recorded to your needs

do what you should be doing with the vocal, to the guitar and record in a dry room listening to your drum tracks ( and rough vocal, guitar mix) with headphones and re-record using the better quality inputs.

in this case you would want to keep you guitar and vocal OUT of the drum mic's

Androidjoey 01-11-2013 05:19 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by chatterbox272
Unless his kit takes up a whole room or something he doesn't need 10 mics. Kick mic, Snare Mic, and Overhead will do the job adequately, after that you're adding them to improve the clarity of the individual parts, or a room mic to give it a little more 'feel'. And why are you recording guitar, vocals, and drums at the same time if you're recording digitally? All you'll do is increase the bleed between mics. Honestly I would recommend a 4 channel interface of some description, mic the kit in one take, the guitar in another, and the vocals in a 3rd if possible. Otherwise at least drum in one take, and guitar + vocals in another. Also you'll save money on that because you can double on mics (e.g. SM57 can work as both a snare and guitar mic).

I told him but he has a huge 20 something piece double bass set and he wants to pickup as much as possible. But the reason we are recording all at once is to get a more live feel. except the vocals witch we are doing after we track the drums and guitar.

chatterbox272 01-11-2013 05:31 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Androidjoey
I told him but he has a huge 20 something piece double bass set and he wants to pickup as much as possible. But the reason we are recording all at once is to get a more live feel. except the vocals witch we are doing after we track the drums and guitar.

okay :shrug: I don't agree with it (you could still do that on 4 mics. just go kick, other kick, overhead, snare.) but it's your recording not mine :)

In that case, I'd try doing the kit on 8 mics rather than 10 (I don't even know what he's gonna do with 10+ mics. both kicks, snare, stereo overhead, hats, stereo toms, and what else?) and I'd try considering running the guitar direct into input 9/10, then running it back through one of the outputs into an amp and micing it then. That'd reduce the bleed without loosing the feel you're after.

Androidjoey 01-11-2013 05:41 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by chatterbox272
okay :shrug: I don't agree with it (you could still do that on 4 mics. just go kick, other kick, overhead, snare.) but it's your recording not mine :)

In that case, I'd try doing the kit on 8 mics rather than 10 (I don't even know what he's gonna do with 10+ mics. both kicks, snare, stereo overhead, hats, stereo toms, and what else?) and I'd try considering running the guitar direct into input 9/10, then running it back through one of the outputs into an amp and micing it then. That'd reduce the bleed without loosing the feel you're after.

Well the bass is going di so its tempting me to just run straight in too but I really want to capture the tone from my amp.

chronowarp 01-11-2013 05:52 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Androidjoey
I told him but he has a huge 20 something piece double bass set and he wants to pickup as much as possible. But the reason we are recording all at once is to get a more live feel. except the vocals witch we are doing after we track the drums and guitar.

kick
snare
tom1
tom2
mono overhead
room
guitar (di)
bass (di)

reamp the guitar and bass after.

Androidjoey 01-11-2013 05:55 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by chronowarp
kick
snare
tom1
tom2
mono overhead
room
guitar (di)
bass (di)

reamp the guitar and bass after.


Reamp?

Odirunn 01-11-2013 05:56 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by chronowarp
kick
snare
tom1
tom2
mono overhead
room
guitar (di)
bass (di)

reamp the guitar and bass after.

A mono room and stereo OH would be much better.

Androidjoey 01-11-2013 06:04 AM

Question the balanced line inputs on the back is where i would plug the external preamps into right?

chatterbox272 01-11-2013 06:12 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Androidjoey
Reamp?

The thing I was suggesting before. Record the guitar DI, then play it back through the amp and record the amp. Gets you the same sound and 'feel' but without all the bleed and extra gear.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:21 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.