UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com

UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/index.php)
-   Musician Talk (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   A bit of guidance needed (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1583114)

JuloMU 01-16-2013 07:53 AM

A bit of guidance needed

Hi, I've been playing the guitar for a few years now but truth be told I'm kinda in a rut atm. I want to progress but don't know exactly what direction to head in for that to happen.

I'm your less-than-average guitarist, can play open chords, barre chords, can play a few solos here and there, and as far as scales go I know a few patterns but the only scale I really know over the entire fretboard (or close to) is the Am Pentatonic.

I'm a fan of blues & the melodic side of things (Hendrix, Clapton, Santana, etc), not really looking to shred or tap, and as far as theory goes I don't know much and whenever I've tried to learn it I just can't seem to get it. Hard to explain but either it's something I already know or it's something unknown but it seems as if I'm missing a step if that makes any sense.

I realize there are probably questions like this asked quite often so my apologies if I'm wasting anyone's time.

Deadds 01-16-2013 08:59 AM

There's no need for apologies. You're not wasting out time, you're wasting yours. Ask about the things you don't understand and we will try to answer it.

What about theory don't you understand? Keys? Progressions? Chords?

-Retro- 01-16-2013 09:58 AM

I agree with Deadds, be a little more specific on what you'd like to improve. Probably a good start would be to learn the blues scale (Which just adds two notes to the pentatonic) and then maybe start working on a minor pentatonic and phrygian, because those fit well with many chord progressions.

johnyere 01-16-2013 10:17 AM

www.justinguitar.com

MaggaraMarine 01-16-2013 10:34 AM