UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com

UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/index.php)
-   Guitar Gear & Accessories (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=33)
-   -   Mesa amp modals comparison-help for a custom preamp design (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1583607)

siddiq4321 01-19-2013 07:49 AM

Mesa amp modals comparison-help for a custom preamp design

Hey there..
I am having my 18w boutique combo designed from be3amplifiers.com
Need some help on the preamp section
Its is going to be a three channel out of which one is a fender bassmen

Need a feed for the rest two
I am hunting for- True METALLICA tone and high gain transperency plus a versitile output
(I understand as its not going to be 100% true)

Options-
Rythm...
Mesa dual (i am more keen to this), triple, mark series

Solo...
Mesa solo head, Tonebone tube dist.pedal, marshall jvm,jcm, anyone of the above rythms too.

Yes i am new to this...and any one amp which can do both shall be good to save my expenses
Thanks in advance

loki_lulamen 01-19-2013 08:35 AM

Mesa mark 2 is the most famous Metallica tone. Ride the lightning and master of puppets IIRC.

siddiq4321 01-19-2013 08:41 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by loki_lulamen
Mesa mark 2 is the most famous Metallica tone. Ride the lightning and master of puppets IIRC.

Okay...any solo amp opinion? Mesa solo head?

ragingkitty 01-19-2013 10:32 AM

You're putting a Mark sound for a Rythmn sound? Shouldn't it be in the lead?

Anyways, I like the sound of a driven Fireball... considered that for the lead channel?

Also, at 18 watts, you're not gonna get much headroom, so be aware that you might not be able to get that preamp gain sound.

I K0nijn I 01-19-2013 11:01 AM

What kind of Metallica tones are you looking for?
My dual rectifier nailed modern Metallica rythm, but if you're looking for older Metallica, you'll want something else.

CECamps 01-19-2013 11:17 AM