UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com

UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/index.php)
-   Guitar Techniques (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   tremolo trick that I don't know it's name... (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1584173)

MultiM 01-22-2013 07:31 AM

tremolo trick that I don't know it's name...
 
hey guys:
there's a tremolo trick that everybody do with the tremolo arm by just touching it or something like this steve vai do it a lot, not just normal vibrating, a very heavy one
I tried to do it but it didn't work, maybe I need a floyd rose system. my guitar is ibanez grg150 with tremolo without floyd rose locking system.

jeff loomis do it here in 0:42


Shor 01-22-2013 07:50 AM

It's called fluttering, or flutter.
You will need a fully floating bridge to make that work, so sorry, it won't work with your guitar.

MultiM 01-22-2013 09:58 AM

can I do it if I adjusted the bridge( made it higher)?

Drew-A 01-22-2013 11:14 AM

Yeah - not sure what it's called, but I know what you're going after.

It's actually really easy to do, you just need the right bridge (something like a Floyd), and it has to be setup properly.

The main thing is make sure it's floating (pitches can be both raised and lowered), and you probably won't need more than 2 springs (this will make the bar very touch sensitive, but will require adjustments if this not how it's setup originally).

If you have a standard Fender-style vintage bridge, you won't be able to achieve this effect.

You should go into a music store and find a guitar setup for this, and you'll see exactly how it works!

GuitarFreak1387 01-23-2013 08:56 AM

You can do it with a fender term system. It just has to be set up to be floating.

Drew-A 01-23-2013 04:13 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by GuitarFreak1387
You can do it with a fender term system. It just has to be set up to be floating.


Yeah - you need the right type of bridge.

Could be certain Fenders - but a vintage style bridge won't work. It also doesn't need to be locking.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:28 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.