UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com

UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/index.php)
-   The Pit (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   What would you have done different? (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1585249)

donegan_zealot 01-28-2013 12:35 PM

What would you have done different?

Looking back to when you first started to learn to play guitar up til now, what decisions do you regret?

- My parents told me they would pay for lessons if I wanted.. I declined saying it'd be cool to say I was self-taught. :(

- I saved up for months to buy a Line 6 30 watt Spyder

- Wish I never found out about tabs. They helped me stay interested but my ear is god awful to the point where my friend who has been playing for like 6 months figures out how to play songs by ear faster than I can.

- Practiced silly things... I can down pick faster than anyone I know and only know the major scale in two positions.

- Had a band offer to have me join and I said no cause I was already in one. That band now is recording, playing weekly shows, opened up for paramore (my biggest show was 200 people)

-I have 4 amps under $300, I never got around to getting a decent one.

Share!

theogonia777 01-28-2013 12:51 PM

I don't know. I can't really think of anything with guitar. I guess if I had played banjo with finger picks more often I wouldn't be so messy with them.

Two things in life that I would have done differently in general would be to have done band in school (my now I would have been playing sax or drums or whatever for 11 1/2 years) and also I would have liked to have started playing football when I was young. I could be on my way to being an NFL placekicker by now or something.

Or maybe I wouldn't have been good at those things.

cptcomet 01-28-2013 12:55 PM