UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com

UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/index.php)
-   Musician Talk (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   Please Help (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1587438)

MarkGraves98 02-09-2013 11:25 PM

Please Help

Hey guys i am gonna start of by saying i am new to this forum i am a 14 yyear old guitarist drummer vocalist and producer and thats about all you need to know! ;) anyway i am just writting a song and its coming up for the solo but i aint sure what notes to use because i mainly play in D tuning but in C (CGCFAD) so it would be really useful if someone could help me with where to solo around ! Thanks ;)

Junior#1 02-10-2013 12:34 AM

Depends on the key of the song. And 'where' to solo doesn't really make any sense at all. The notes for all scales and keys are found throughout the fretboard, so you can solo anywhere on the fretboard one you learn the key, the notes of the scale, and the notes of the fretboard.

MarkGraves98 02-10-2013 12:42 AM

Say if i am in C which i am would i play the C natural minor scale starting on the 8th fret and playing same as i would in standard? sorry my theory aint that good

GoldenGuitar 02-10-2013 02:12 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkGraves98
Say if i am in C which i am would i play the C natural minor scale starting on the 8th fret and playing same as i would in standard? sorry my theory aint that good

Sorry mate, but that doesn't make any sense. I can't follow your line of logic at all. :shrug:

TheHydra 02-10-2013 02:41 AM

Quote:

No. If you're in C standard, then C on the 6th string is at the 12th fret. You would be playing an A minor scale if you started at the 8th like that.

Morphogenesis26 02-10-2013 03:47 AM

Quote:

If you are in the Key of C then playing the notes in that key is the safest bet. Do you know what those notes are?