UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com

UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/index.php)
-   Guitar Techniques (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   How to vibrato? (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1589811)

Experei07 02-24-2013 11:30 AM

How to vibrato?

I've been playing guitar for about 7 months and I'm into bands like Pantera and Megadeth. I've been trying to vibrato for a while now and I noticed I am doing it incorrectly (using my fingers). I usually get suggestions such as, "bend with your wrist, not your fingers..." which is the right technique, but I can never emulate this. I always watch these tutorial videos on youtube or read advice on forums, and they're all pretty mediocre. If someone could explain to me in full detail how to vibrato for complete beginners or give me a few links to some videos, that'd be great

Zaphod_Beeblebr 02-24-2013 11:42 AM

The idea is that you keep your fingers straight, lock them in place and turn your arm to get the motion you need. I have to say I'm not sure what exactly you don't understand about it :confused:

Experei07 02-24-2013 11:56 AM

I don't really understand how I can twist my arm with my hand around the neck. When I try and twist it, my hand is in the way, so I can't get any movement. Also, I don't know how "straight" I should keep my fingers... should I keep them exactly straight (because then I would have to put my thumb really far behind the neck) or just stiff. I just don't understand how it works or how the motion is supposed to look from behind the neck

Dreamdancer11 02-24-2013 11:57 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Experei07